Skip to content
January 21, 2010 / Meg

Back on Track

The following is a post that I initially posted on a blogspot blog.  I had posted it on Jan. 5th.  Since I’ve realized wordpress is so much better, I thought I’d get the ball rolling with this post.

Today is a really big day for me. Today is the day that I finally head back to the gym.

Unlike everyone else in America, I’m not hitting the gym solely because I have a new year’s resolution to lose weight. Though that is one of my resolutions (how does that end up on the list every year?!?), it’s not my main reason. The truth is I’m kind of a fitness fanatic, and I just love working out. It wasn’t always like that – but I’ve grown to love working out more and more over the years. Unfortunately, I have been sidelined recently due to a stress fracture.

I suffered a horrible knee injury my freshman year of college that required major surgery. I had patellae realignment surgery, which (warning: gross content) required my doctor to detach my calf muscle, shave off a piece of my shin bone, and screw the piece of my shin bone onto my patellae to prevent it from further dislocation. I warned you it was gross!

Since then, I’ve really had no problems; I often said that my “bad knee” was better than my good one! But as I was teaching a Turbo Kick class in October, I felt a sharp pain in my knee. It was really difficult for me to walk home from the gym, and I immediately had swelling and bruising that started in my knee and continued down my shin.

I unfortunately had to quit exercising because the pain was too intense. I also had to stop wearing high heels because I would come home from work everyday in a lot of pain. It was quite difficult because let’s face it – I love shoes. I even had to buy new pants because all of the ones I had were too long without heels!

A month after the injury, I was finally able to return to Pittsburgh and see my surgeon. It was a relief to find out that it was only a stress fracture, and it was in the process of healing since I had been taking care of it. But I still had another month to go until it would be ready to take on the stress of exercise everyday.

And here I am. It’s a month later, and I’m ready to go back. Do I think it will be hard to get back into the swing of things? YES! I went from working out 5 days a week to not working out for 2 1/2 months. It will be difficult. It will require a lot of sweat, hard work, and certainly a lot of ice packs for my knee. But it will be worth it. Taking care of myself has to be a top priority. I’m so glad to be able to do so again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

