Skip to content
January 22, 2010 / Meg

Scales, Goals, and Some Football

It’s Friday, which for me is weigh-in day.  And let me tell you, I have worked my derriere off this week.  (Side note: in French derriere means behind, as in “the lamp is behind the table.”  If you’re trying to use it in reference to your own behind, the correct word is cul.  But since no one really knows that, I’ll stick with derriere.)

I also got a fabulous new scale and a new kitchen scale this week.  I’ll talk more about those in a post next week, but let me tell you – they are awesome!  My old scale was so… OLD…and I knew I needed to replace it when I tried to weigh myself last week and it kept saying “Lo.”  Since I bought the scale for like $7 at Target a few years ago, and I assumed replacing the fancy battery would cost more than half of the price of the scale itself, I decided to do some investigating online and found a deal on Amazon.

But anyway, the great news is that I lost 3 pounds this week!  I’m sure part of it can be attributed to the change of scales, but hey – I’ll take whatever I can get.  The number on the scale does not define me, but it sure put an extra pep in my step this morning! I really felt like all of my hard work this week paid off!  I’m excited that this whole weight loss thing is off to a great start (down 4.8 pounds so far!)  and I really feel like I’m not just losing weight, but getting FIT (which is the ultimate goal).

Yesterday in my Turbo Kick class, my friend and instructor Lindy was talking about goals.  She writes goals down for every month, year, and 5 years.  She writes them all in the present tense, which I found really interesting.  So she wrote “In 2015 I am…”  It inspired me to write out some more goals too.  I had goals for every semester in college, and it really kept me on track. I would keep a list in my planner, on my bulletin board, next to my desk – wherever I could see it to keep me focused on achieving them.  So I think I’m going to work on some more goals soon!

I’m going to help out at a youth conference in Columbia, SC this weekend, and I’m glad my weight was down this week because I’ll be eating out A LOT this weekend.  I’m happy for the little bit of cushion in those 3 pounds (the goal is to lose 1 lb. per week).  But the best part of this weekend is the AFC and NFC championship games!! Since my Steelers didn’t even make the playoffs, I don’t have one specific team I’m rooting for.  My brother in law is a HUGE Colts fan (he’s from Indy), so for his sake I’m hoping the Colts win.  But I would really like to see the Jets win – I think Rex Ryan is AWESOME and it would be really cool to see a rookie head coach and a rookie quarterback lead their team to the Superbowl. On the NFC side, I am really unsure.  The Vikings looked solid last week (and their defense is ridiculous – the Bills are crazy for hiring Chan Gailey over potentially being able to have Leslie Frazier as their head coach).  I gotta say, I love Jared Allen’s mullet. Brett Favre’s indecisiveness really irritated me in the past, but he played awesome last week (and clearly, the Pants on the Ground song in the locker room helped him earn a few brownie points in my book ;))  But I think a lot of people are rooting for New Orleans, and I’d be happy if they won too.  I’m happy the Saints are hosting their first NFC championship game, and I think a victory in the Big Easy would be a wonderful thing for their city.  It’s a toss-up for me.  I’m looking forward to seeing who will be in the Superbowl this year!

What about you?  Are you setting any new goals?  And who are you rooting for this weekend?

Leave a Reply

