Skip to content
January 25, 2010 / Meg

Weekend Recap

Happy Monday! Did you have a good weekend?  I hope so!

My weekend was very busy – I volunteered at a UMC youth conference in Columbia, SC on Friday and Saturday.  I came back on Saturday and took a nap!  I have to admit – I never take naps (unless I’m sick – which fortunately doesn’t happen often).  I didn’t even take naps in college.  But I was just exhausted and I think my body needed some rest.

I then went to the gym and worked out on the treadmill for 30 minutes (plus a 5 minute cool down).  I’m currently doing the Couch to 5K program so  I don’t injure my knee!  I’m currently recovering from a stress fracture I sustained a few months ago.  I also have arthritis in my knee as a result of the surgery I had a few years back.  So I’m trying to take it slow to avoid further injury.  Saturday’s workout was the final workout of week 2 of the program.  I begin week 3 later today!  I’m just trying to run 3 days a week – Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday – because I take group exercise classes and lift weights on the other days.  I always make sure I take Sunday off from the gym so I have a day to rest and recover!

I spent all of Saturday night and most of Sunday working on a scholarship essay for one of the seminaries I’ve applied to.  I have to admit – the interesting topics of these papers – plus all of the research I put into them – is getting me really excited to start my M.Div.  I can’t wait to go back to school and begin this new chapter of my life!

Sunday’s sermon was very interesting.  It focused on spiritual gifts, and we learned that the UMC has an online resource that can help you figure out what your spiritual gifts are.  When you google “spiritual gifts” it’s one of the first links listed.  Very cool.

I went out to dinner last night and ate enough chips, salsa, and guacamole for a linebacker.  Ugh.  Back on track today!  I’ll be starting the third week of the Couch to 5K program during my lunch break and going to a turbo kick class after work.

And did you watch those AFC and NFC championship games?!?  Do you know that if Brett Favre retires today, his final pass as a Packer, Jet, and Viking will all be interceptions! Ouch.  He otherwise played a good game.  Though that one hit looked painful!  I’m excited for a Colts-Saints Superbowl!!

Is your week is off to a good start?  Who are you rooting for in the Superbowl?

Leave a Reply

