Skip to content
January 27, 2010 / Meg

Crazy/Love Chapter 1

Hey peeps!  I’ve been rockin’ and rollin’ with the workouts this week, and I can tell you that I am so sore today!  But I love that feeling – you can only get it when you work out really hard, so it means I at least accomplished something!

I have to ask your advice on something.  I’m currently leading a small group study on the book Crazy/Love by Francis Chan.  The foreword, preface, and first chapter are pretty incredible.  The main premise for the first part of the book is the greatness of God and how God is just so big we can’t even begin to comprehend it.  We watched this video which really put everything into perspective.  It made me think about Psalm 139 where we learn that God uniquely created us and knows all about us – even each of the hairs on our head.  To think that God would be so loving and care so deeply about me, this tiny little speckle in the middle of this gigantic universe is pretty amazing. Needless to say, it left me in awe.

Here’s the issue: last night was the first time we met as a group for the study.  Crazy/Love is pretty cool because it comes with a DVD that starts off your discussion for each chapter.  Except there is a tiny problem: the DVD does not have closed captioning, and I have a hearing impaired student in my small group.  We tried everything – the closed captioning didn’t work and nothing happened when we hit the subtitles button on the remote.  Does anyone know what to do in this situation? I want to continue to use the DVD as a resource, but I want everyone to know what Francis Chan is saying on the DVD.  The hearing impaired student can read lips, but there are so many parts on the DVD where he’s talking but it isn’t showing his face.

I can’t figure out what to do – do I contact the company and ask if they have any suggestions?  Do I let it go and not use the DVD as a resource (which I really don’t want to do because it is so very good)?  Or do I just continue to use it and hope for the best?  If you have any advice on what to do, please leave a comment!

Hope you all have a wonderful Wednesday!  The week is almost halfway over…yay!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

