Skip to content
March 31, 2010 / Meg

A Journey, Not a Race

Alright, confession time: while I was traveling and interviewing at multiple seminaries, in addition to taking 14 students to New York City, I was pretty slack at this whole healthy eating thing.  I mean, I totally knew what I was doing – ordering Wendy’s almost every time I was in an airport was bound to be catastrophic.  Going out for wings and fries with my friends would sky rocket my caloric consumption.  Drinking a Coke at dinner would waste calories…but I was stressed and tired, and told myself I needed the caffeine (and I don’t drink coffee!).   I’m a fitness instructor, and I should know better.

But you know how life gets really stressful and you just need want something unhealthy with pop to drink (soda for you non-cool people out there)?!?  Well I let myself think that’s what I neededPlease note: your body will be so much more thankful if you don’t succumb to this thinking.  Proof of this: I gained 4.5 pounds.

It’s amazing how quickly you can gain weight.  In less than 2 months, I had gained almost 5 pounds.  That’s more than 1/2 a pound a week!  Do you realize how many calories I must have been consuming?!?  Way. Too. Many.   I was terrified to step on that scale – I thought it was going to be wayyyy higher.  Like 10+ pounds.  A 4.5 pounds increase wasn’t good, but it was way less than what I had anticipated.

Fortunately, I’ve already worked off 2 of those 4.5 lbs.  I’ve been working really hard at eating healthy and getting my exercise in.  And it’s not because I want to lose those 4.5 pounds (though I do), it’s because I just feel that it’s time for a better me.  These past few years have been beneficial for my independence and my faith.   Now it’s time for that inside glow to show on the outside!

Soooo….what now?  I now introduce you to my plan of attack.

  • Cardio 6 days a week.  Yes, SIX.  (2 days of Turbo Kick, 4 days of running)
  • Weightlifting 4 days a week (2 days upper body, 2 days lower body)
  • Abs 3 days a week
  • Friday = DAY OFF!

One of my very dear friends is a fitness extraordinaire, and she has helped me put this whole thing together.  This is a slightly upgraded version of what I was already doing, but being out of town so much just threw my entire schedule off.  My friend also helped me set short and long term goals, and she’s really helping me stay accountable.  I’ve realized that it’s time to back on track, and there is no better day than TODAY to start achieving my goals!.

But the thing is, my success won’t be measured by how closely I stick to this program.  Sure, I’ll get the results faster if I do, but it’s not about that.  It’s all about the day-to-day decisions.  After reading Tony’s blog post, it really put it all into perspective to me.  The small decisions are what make us healthy.  Each choice we make helps us to be better.  It’s okay to have a piece of pizza or a s’more (both of which I ate on Sunday :)), but we just have to remember the big goal.  It’s a journey, not a race!

Leave a Reply

