Skip to content
May 3, 2010 / Meg

It Happens.

You know, like they say in that Sugarland song.

Ain’t no rhyme or reason
No complicated meaning
Ain’t no need to over think it
Let go laughing
Life don’t go quite like you planned it
We try so hard to understand
Irrefutable, indisputable
The fact is
Psssh
It happens

Saturday’s post was supposed to go up on Friday.  Actually I thought it did post on Friday, until I was bored Saturday morning and actually logged into WordPress.  Ooooooooops.  Apparently most bloggers don’t write their posts in WordPress…maybe I should get on that.

So yeah.  I wrote Friday’s post because I was so excited I had lost 3.6 pounds. I had worked so hard during the week, and I really watched what I was eating.  I made it over that small plateau and I felt GOOD.  But then, the weekend came.  I generally splurge on the weekend, and indulge in a treat I probably wouldn’t eat during the week.  And by “a treat” I mean a few ;).  I just don’t watch what I eat as closely as I do throughout the week, and I truly enjoy the time I spend and the meals I eat with my friends!

Ah, the Kentucky Derby. Gotta love those hats.

But Saturday, now THAT was a different story.  Saturday was the Kentucky Derby.  I didn’t realize this until I actually arrived at the party (for a few pics, check out my Twitpic page), but I digress.  I hadn’t really eaten a full meal before the party – I just had a Luna Bar.  So I got there and was starving.  And I ate EVERYTHING in sight. Times two.  Bad. Bad. Bad.  I’m never good with appetizers – I love to snack and they’re always so yummy.  They’re my favorite thing to eat at parties and they’re definitely my favorite thing to bring to parties as well!  But I definitely didn’t need to eat as many as I did yesterday.

But you know what, it happens!  I can’t be mad at myself and act like I didn’t have an amazing time with some awesome people.  It was so much fun and I wouldn’t change a thing.  We can’t get mad at ourselves every time we make a mistake – they call it a journey for a reason!

This week I’ll be flying to Pittsburgh to go home and spend time with my friends and family.  Again, there will be a lot of yummy not-so-healthy food (hello Mom’s home cooking! – and my Mom is the queen of appetizers) and I will eat it.  I just have to remind myself that it’s 100% okay to eat this food, I should just watch  my portions and make sure I’m not over-indulging too much.

Following a healthy lifestyle doesn’t mean you can’t splurge every now and then.  I think what’s really important about living healthy is NOT getting mad at yourself when you eat too much or drink too many caloric beverages.  Being healthy means being happy, and we always owe it to ourselves to be happy. If you slip up, IT’S OKAY!  Just work out a little harder this week.  Stay focused, and it will all work out!!

Leave a Reply

