Skip to content
May 18, 2010 / Meg

VIMM 5k Recap

It happened.  I ran my second 5k and set a new PR! Success? Yes, but not without a few bumps along the way!

Let’s start from the night before.  I laid out my running clothes, set my alarm, but could NOT fall asleep.  I don’t know if I was anxious or nervous, but I was tossing and turning for hours.  I was thinking if I had everything: running clothes, check. water bottle, check. ibuprofen, check. ipod, check.  Then I thought, what about my keys?  But I was so tired and just wasn’t really willing to get out of bed.

I woke up, hit snooze 3 times, got ready in about 7 minutes, and panicked when I couldn’t find my keys.  It took an extra 10 minutes (it felt like 30), but I found them.

Pre-race fuel: a naner (more on this later).

Then I passed this on the way to the race; it was super strange seeing one so close to my house.

And then I arrived at the race!  It was a 5k for Volunteers in Medical Missions.  I didn’t know anything about the organization before the race, but I must say they seem like a fantastic organization to be a part of!

My gift for racing: t-shirt, promotional materials, coupons for Earth Fare.

A failed attempt at taking a picture of myself.  I really need a running buddy.

Where I hid my car keys while I ran 😉  [Okay, okay I know this isn’t safe.  But what’s a girl supposed to do?  Do y’all tie your keys to your shoe laces?  Advice please!]

[Side note:  I had a slight freak-out after the race when I looked under the wrong bush and thought my keys were stolen.  Yeah, I need a better plan, lol!]

And then… we were off!  I couldn’t find a map with the race route (though I later learned it was in the swag bag), so I was nervous and tried to just follow the crowd.   I had never, ever run a course with so many hills before.  With lots of knee problems, I was a bit terrified.   And it was definitely justified, as I had never felt such horrendous knee pain while running.  But despite the pain (and the insane heat and humidity), I kept pushing through.  I knew I could run more than a 5k distance without stopping, and I wasn’t going to let anything hold me back.

However, I thought I was going to be very sick.  I definitely didn’t eat enough before the race, and about 3/4 of the way through, I thought I was either going to pass out or puke.  I even screamed to someone that I was going to be sick and she said “keep running!”  So I did.  And I survived.

I finished with a time of 36:34, which is 2 minutes and 16 seconds faster than my last 5k!  I was really hoping to finish in 36:00, but I am incredibly happy with my time.  I had never run on such a hilly course, and I am so proud of myself for finishing!  There were so many times when I wanted to walk but I kept saying to myself, “You can do this.  You’re stronger than you think you are!”  And I was.

The only negative part of the race was what happened right after.  I was so incredibly exhausted, and almost stumbled on my way to grabbing a Gatorade.  And then there were tons of oranges and bananas for people to eat after the race. This was fantastic for everyone else, except that I’m horribly allergic to oranges and the smell made me sick!

But it was alright – I grabbed half of a banana and fueled with some Gatorade.  I forgot to check my bodybugg (it’s the thing on my left arm, it measures calories burned, steps, activity level, etc.) until about 1o minutes after I finished, but it said:

465 calories burned since the start of the race

And I was still burning 6.7 calories per minute after the race!

I checked my bodybugg online the next day, and I actually burned 433 calories during my 36 minute race!  Craaaazy!

My ‘totally unflattering but I don’t care because I’m proud of what I accomplished’ post-race picture:

I spent the entire afternoon watching way too many episodes of 16 & Pregnant and icing my knee.  I’m happy to say that on Sunday I had no knee pain whatsoever!

Lessons learned from this race:

  • I definitely needed more than just a banana for breakfast.  I think an English muffin with peanut butter would have been a good addition to the pre-race breakfast.
  • Don’t wear black when running a race in crazy South Carolina heat.
  • Always keep pushing.  I’m capable of accomplishing anything!

Now I’m just trying to figure out what’s next!  Another 5k? A 10k?  Only time will tell! 🙂

Leave a Reply

