Skip to content
May 24, 2010 / Meg

Insanity Days 4-6

Oh Insanity.  I wish you had another name, because there really isn’t a better word to describe your workout program.  People ask, “Oh you’re doing Insanity?  What’s that like?”  Intense doesn’t begin to describe it.  Heart pumping, sweat drenching is a start.  But really, it’s just insane.  And I mean that in the most fabulous way possible.

I’m averaging about a 300 calorie burn in each Insanity workout, but my increased calorie/minute burn continues long after the workout is finished.  For example, my Insanity workout ended about an hour and a half ago, and I’m still burning 3.7 calories per minute (usually at rest I burn 1.6).

I never anticipated sweating like this with Insanity.  I’m usually that girl who works out and doesn’t really break a sweat.  But I am literally working out in a puddle of my own sweat.  It’s gross, disgusting, and awesome all at the same time.

Shaun T is an awesome trainer.  He’s always encouraging, but never cheesy.  He truly pushes you to new fitness levels with each workout.  I’m so much stronger than I was a week ago thanks to Shaun T.

Push-ups have never been my forte, so I was very nervous starting Insanity.  But I must tell you, I’m able to do SO MANY push-ups now (and with proper form!).  I don’t know how many I can do in a row now (since we do them in segments during the workout), but I’m finding myself going at the same pace as Shaun T.  I never anticipated being able to do so – especially on the 6th workout!  I’m amazed and excited about what’s to come.

All in all, Insanity has been amazing so far.  I’m excited to see some big changes in the next 60 days.

I leave you with this quote, from Oprah’s commencement address at Wellesley College in 1997.  I find it motivating and encouraging.  With all of my knee problems, I never thought I’d be able to transform my body and make these huge changes.  Cheers to all of us who are becoming healthier, happier, and more fit each and every day!

“Turn your wounds into wisdom. You will be wounded many times in your life. You’ll make mistakes. Some people will call them failures but I have learned that failure is really God’s way of saying, “Excuse me, you’re moving in the wrong direction.” It’s just an experience, just an experience.”

Leave a Reply

