Skip to content
May 28, 2010 / Meg

Why I LOVE Being a Group Exercise Instructor

I never thought I would teach group fitness classes…especially ones that involve hip hop dance moves!  I grew up as a jazz & ballet dancer and a softball player.  Group exercise wasn’t even on my radar until I started my first post-graduate job 2 years ago.

But here I am, teaching fitness classes.  Sometimes the words “fitness professional” are still a little intimidating, so I always just refer to myself as a group exercise instructor!

Here are just a few reasons why I love teaching group exercise:

Love my classes! Don't hate on my hot pink shorts 😉

  • I meet all kinds of people I wouldn’t otherwise get to meet
  • It’s a fun way to exercise
  • It’s a joy to be able to motivate others
  • It’s awesome to be part of the fitness industry
  • It’s thrilling to be a small part of someone’s fitness or weight loss journey
  • I’m able to thrive off of the energy of my students
  • I’m always held accountable – there is a date/time that I’m required to be at the gym and motivate others
  • I follow specific formats (Turbo Kick and PiYo – for more info on these Powder Blue formats click here) so I always have to be prepared for my classes – this means practicing in my house and mastering the routines before I teach at the gym
  • I’m able to improve with each class I teach

If you’ve ever considered getting certified to teach group exercise classes – I highly recommend it.  You’ll love the positive impact it will make on your life!  It’s a huge confidence builder (just another reason why I love teaching)!!!

Tomorrow is Friday – woohooo!  And on a very happy note: my mom will be visiting me in less than a week.  I’m definitely ready for a girl’s weekend!! 🙂

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Christina Thomas / Jul 14 2010 3:05 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I hope you keep following! I look forward to reading more of your blog! Isn’t Turbo Kick the greatest!? I am also a Beachbody Coach and I love helping people get in shape.

    PS I have those same hot pink shorts… and I have them on now. TK IS TONIGHT!!

Leave a Reply

