Skip to content
June 3, 2010 / Meg

Perspective & Prayers, Please!

Do you ever have moments in your life that just put everything into perspective?

Today, I had one of those moments.

I don’t write about it often [probably because I take it for granted], but my life took an entire 180 degree turn after I moved to South Carolina.  I moved here thinking I would work here for a year and then start my master’s degree in higher education.  Let’s just say…that didn’t happen.

I fell in love with my job and the fabulous people I was surrounded by.  They all took me in despite my yankee accent, lack of college football knowledge, and obsession with the Steelers.  More importantly, I was growing in my faith so much from the moment I stepped foot in this state.

You see, my job had me working [and living] right alongside a campus ministry.  [I work in a community service and service learning office at a university, and I coordinate volunteer programs for the student body.]  I became more involved with my church and became super heavily involved with the campus ministry.  I went on a mission trip with the campus ministry to Nicaragua, served as a small group leader on another mission trip, started leading Bible studies, and was reading my Bible more than I ever had in my entire life.  Seeing the connection between developing students into leaders and developing their faith was fascinating to me. Before I knew it, I felt called to ministry.  It was kind of shocking, because I was still planning on working in higher education up until that point.  In hindsight it makes sense now.  I knew I would always work with college students in my job, but I never really thought I’d be able to tie my faith into it.  Working as a college chaplain or campus minister is truly the best career for me, and I’m so thankful God revealed it to me.  I’ll also able to work for the local church or even for a non-profit, so it really is the best of everything for me.

I had the best mentor and friend throughout this whole process.  My friend Narcie was like my rock.  I had no idea what the heck I was doing or where I should go from here.  She is the amazing campus minister at my university, and the students [and me, obviously] are so lucky to have her as a minister and role model.  She helped me through every step of the way [and trust me, there were more road bumps than you could ever imagine.  I’m trying to be brief here ;)]

Unfortunately, this is the only pic I can find of me and Narcie. I promise we don't normally look like this. The excessive makeup is because it was 80's night. But hey, we know how to have fun!

I could never, ever put into words how much Narcie’s friendship and guidance has meant to me over the past 2 years.  I couldn’t have asked for a better role model or a better mentor.  She exemplifies what it means to truly live out your faith.  [Remember our Hunger Week?  That was all Narcie.  She was the leader on the weeklong intiatives.]  And as far as campus ministry goes, she’s the cream of the crop.  Few people dedicate their life to their calling quite like Narcie, and she’s just a joy to be around.

Unfortunately, Narcie has had a pretty rough week.  To sum it up, she was at a conference for the UM student movement, and had a dream that she had a seizure.  She was sleeping in a lofted bed, and woke up on the floor.  The paramedics came and it turned out that she did indeed have a seizure.  After a lot of tests, it’s been concluded that she has a low grade tumor, but they have to do more tests to determine where it’s at in her brain and what the plan of action should be.

To give you a small example of just how great this lady is, this is how she describes her plan of action:

For me, I already know what that is. I’m going to love, I’m going to fight, I’m going to cry, I’m going to feel, I’m going to get mad, I’m going to laugh, and I’m probably going to have some headaches.

So if you’re of the praying kind, I just ask for you to pray for Narcie and her family. It’s always tough when you need to navigate unchartered [and unexpected] territory.  She’s a mom of 2 kids under the age of 3, a wife of an awesome guy, a daughter, sister, friend, minister, sorority advisor…the list goes on and on.  So if you could just take a moment and say a prayer for this awesome chica, I’d greatly appreciate it.  If you’re not of the praying kind, please send some good vibes her way. 🙂

Thank you all so very much.  You not only have a taste at my insane life story, but also a glimpse at one of the special people in it.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jennifer / Jun 15 2010 2:21 pm

    Love your blog. It is beautiful.
    Will definitely be praying for your friend.

    • Meg / Jun 15 2010 3:30 pm

      Aww thank you!!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. A Quick Little Update « Yinzer Belle
  2. Perspective Part Deux « Yinzer Belle
  3. Oh Hey, I Think You Should… « megaugustine.com

Leave a Reply

