Skip to content
June 16, 2010 / Meg

You Can Now Add Film Critic to My Résumé

I heart Red Box.  You know, that big RED BOX in the grocery store that lets you rent a movie for one dollar?  [I’d put up a pic, but all of the ones on Google say something about copyright that frightens me a wee bit.]

Seriously…why didn’t someone think of this sooner?  Pure genius.  Wish I had thought of it.

Over the weekend, we rented 4 movies from Red Box.  We rented It’s Complicated and Brothers on Friday night and then went back and rented Up in the Air and Leap Year on Saturday.  On Sunday I realized that I had a buy one get one free voucher in my email, but unfortunately it was too late to use it.  Good thing it was only a dollar. 🙂

So for your reading pleasure…my way too late critique of the aforementioned movies:

It’s Complicated – Good.  Very good.  But totally not what I expected.  Apparently I wasn’t paying attention during the preview I saw oh a year or so ago.   I thought she was already in a relationship with Steve Martin and then did the chang-sha-bang with Alec Baldwin…not the other way around.  This movie was literally laugh out loud funny, and it actually didn’t creep me out that I was watching a movie about a love triangle with people that are my parents’ age.  I was hoping for a different ending, but it was still good.

Brothers – Amazing.  Without a doubt, the best movie we watched all weekend.  The preview for this movie was quite dramatic, and having so many close friends fight in this war, I was a little nervous about it.  But the film was just incredible, and I was so glad we didn’t  pass this one up.  It was intense, and like It’s Complicated, it was a little different than I had anticipated.  Tobey Maguire’s performance was stunning, and I’m shocked he wasn’t nominated for any major awards for the his role.  Actually, I’m surprised the entire film wasn’t nominated for any big awards.  It was just that good.

Up in the Air – Not too shabby.  This was the one that was nominated for a whole lot of awards, and the acting was definitely above par.  But my heart broke a little bit when the ultra sexy George Clooney ended up in Chicago.  He was so ready.  Ugh.  I really hope that companies like the one Mr. Clooney worked for don’t actually exist.  If so, people are pansies…just saying.  The ending was somewhat meh but I still liked the movie.

Leap Year – Cheesy and predictable.  But…a big portion of the movie took place in Dingle, Ireland.  When I studied abroad in college, my friends and I visited Dingle.  I had never heard of it before, but it was absolutely fantastic [and ultimately one of the best trips I’ve ever taken!].  So…back to the movie.  Sexy Irish lad.  American doctor who is kind of a jerk.  You get the idea.  I still liked it though, but I’m a cheesy chick flick kind of gal.

Above all, the best part of the weekend was seeing 4 movies for less than the cost of seeing one in the theater. It was a great time spent with one of my favorite people [my dear friend Erica.  Not a sexy Irish lad.   But if you know of one, you know how to reach me ;)].

What about you?  Have you seen any good movies lately?



Leave a Reply

