Skip to content
June 17, 2010 / Meg

Perspective Part Deux

I talked about perspective last week.  One of my friends had a completely life changing event – finding out she has a brain tumor – that really put things into perspective for me.  It was one of those things that makes you realize how precious life is and that everything can change in a heartbeat.

I actually visited Narcie last night and she’s doing absolutely fabulous.  Seriously, it’s unbelievable.  Less than a week after brain surgery and she’s completely herself.  She’s still patiently waiting for the pathology results, but we’re all saying prayers of thankfulness and hope.  What a blessing.

Yesterday was also one of those days that puts things into perspective, but in a different way.  I won’t make you suffer through the details, but let’s just say I had a wake-up call.  Sometimes people can just surprise you, ya know?  It made me realize that you can’t trust everybody, and when you sense something fishy is going on – trust your gut instinct.

It was just one of those days that puts everything into perspective and makes you realize what’s important in life.  At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter how much money I have in the bank or whether or not I own a home.  For me personally, I’ve realized that it’s more important to surround myself with people who encourage me to be a better person, and to actively work at doing so each and every day.  It’s about love and hope and finding people who instill those in you.  It’s about living life, indulging in the good moments, and not sweating the small stuff.  It’s about staying true to what I believe, walking the walk and not just talking the talk.  It’s about discovering who I am, and maybe even growing up.  It’s about embracing the journey ahead and loving every second of it.

And then, I stumbled upon this.  All I can say is wow.  Talk about really putting things into perspective.  We are so much more blessed than we realize.

Leave a Reply

