Skip to content
June 24, 2010 / Meg

Oh, the 90s…

When you look at the toys kids have these days, it’s hard to believe the simple stuff we played with in the late 80s – early 90s.  I mean, it wasn’t that long ago, right?!? [in denial. obviously.]

Perez Hilton posted last night (yes I read celebrity gossip,  but that’s another post for another day) that Dreamworks acquired the rights to a film about Trolls.  Yes, trolls.  You remember them, don’t act like you have no idea what they are.  😉

Perez wrote:

If you were a kid of the last three decades, chances are someone bought you one of these hideous, naked play things for your birthday. If you were lucky, your troll had a vajazzled belly! Those were the best!

Anyway, because Hollywood is bankrupt of creativity these days, DreamWorks has just secured the rights to the Trolls brand and is looking into making an animated movie about them. In fact, writers have already started working on the script, which is said to be looking into the mythology of creatures.

So this got me thinking about some of the other strange toys we had in the 90s.  I mentioned in a previous post that I loved Skip-It as a kid.  Oh yes, it’s true.

I mean, it doesn’t get more technologically savvy than Skip-It.  The thing doesn’t even light up.  Kids these days would think that’s from the Stone Age.

Another insanely popular toy of the 90s?  Beanie babies.

I’ve got to admit – I wasn’t super interested in these.  But I was a big fan of Polly Pockets!

Oh yes.  The sad part is that when I googled Polly Pocket, this photo came up as “Vintage Polly Pocket.”  Pretty sure I owned it.  Does that mean I’m vintage?  Sad times.

And then to prepare us for domestic life, there was the one and only Easy Bake Oven.

I’d like to think this toy is to blame for my lack of cooking skills.  If I actually tried to cook I might be good at it, but maybe this toy is why I’m so lazy about it?  It was just so easy back then.  Bwahahaha.  Okay, time to stop making lame excuses and return to memory lane.

And then, perhaps the strangest toy of all: Pogs.

Really people, how were we entertained by this?!?  Even I can’t figure this one out [and I owned a few back in the day].

Things were pretty simple back then.  I had an N64 and other cool electronic games, but when it comes to toys, things just aren’t as basic as they used to be.

What toys did you enjoy from your childhood?  Are any of your favorites missing from my list?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Erica / Jun 27 2010 4:17 am

    For the record my mom would never let me have an easy bake oven. I wanted one sooo bad!

  2. Jodo KastMaster / Mar 19 2011 4:14 am

    Oh God – I remember pogs! Not too long ago someone tried pawning some off to me as a payment, saying they’ll come back. I just gave him a blank stare.

Leave a Reply

