Skip to content
July 13, 2010 / Meg

Count Your Blessings

Sometimes, we face moments in life that lead us to count our blessings – or to acknowledge and be grateful for what we have.  With very close friends facing major life events, it’s one of those things I’ve heard recently.  So many people say, “It certainly makes you count your blessings, doesn’t it?

Indeed it does, but it kind of weirds me out that we’re always more cognizant of the good things in life when something not-so-good comes along.   I remember as a kid thinking that bad things had to happen so we could appreciate the good ones. As I’m now just a month shy of beginning my seminary education, I’m constantly seeing the question of theodicy pop up.  I now realize that it just can’t be as simple as it was in my elementary mind.

I won’t go into a theodicy debate, but I will say that good things happen each and every day.  Tiny miracles occur that we don’t even notice.

Count your blessings. It’s something so simple, yet so overlooked in the hustle and bustle of this busy life we lead.  We often become so wrapped up in what’s going on around us that we forget to stop and take a moment to be simply be grateful.

On good days and bad days, I’m blessed.  No matter how many twists and turns occur on this journey, I have a God whose love is constant and gracious.  My hope is to take time and recognize the blessings in my life more frequently. Though I’m thankful there are moments that make me more aware of the many blessings in my life, I don’t want these events to be the sole reason I see the beauty in the blessings I’ve been given.  I pray to always give thanks to a God who shows me love and grace and bestows countless blessings upon me each and every day.

Leave a comment