Skip to content
July 14, 2010 / Meg

Thank You Notes

If there was any strange and unusual talent I have [other than being able to put my tongue into 3 loops or being able to twirl fire] it would be writing really good thank you notes.  Seriously, I couldn’t even count the number of thank you notes I’ve written for other people.  If I had $5 for each one I’ve ever written, let’s just say my bank account would be smiling a wee bit more.

I think handwritten thank you notes are one of the most overlooked things of our tech-savvy generation. I firmly believe handwritten notes of gratitude can make such an impact.  After I attended a conference last fall for young peeps pondering a future in ministry, I personally wrote a handwritten thank you note to each of the

seminary representatives I spoke to.  The admissions directors may not have remembered speaking to me, but I definitely wanted to thank them for taking time out of their crazy busy schedules to talk to little ol’ me.  Some of the schools I didn’t even end up applying to, but I still wanted to thank them for giving me more insight about their Master of Divinity program and how it could fit into my life goals.  I had forgotten that I had even written the notes, but when I interviewed for a scholarship at one of the schools and happened to see that thank you note I wrote months earlier in my applicant folder, I was really glad that I did.  They could have easily thrown the note away [or hopefully recycled it], but they kept it.  It definitely wasn’t a waste of time and it wasn’t just another deleted email.

There’s something about taking the time to say thank you that really means a lot. Sure, it’s easy to send a quick little email, but when people can save a nice note that you left them, I think it’s a little more special.

I have a pile of blank thank you notes sitting on my desk.  For perhaps the first time ever, I don’t know what to write.  How do you thank people who have helped you grow and mature and have made you a better person? How do you put into words how much one person has made a positive impact on your life?  How can you possibly show your gratitude to someone who uniquely helped shape you into the person you are today?  How do you say thanks for all of the laughs and smiles?  How can you possibly fit it all onto one tiny note?

I simply just don’t know.  Though I’m not the most eloquent blogger in the world, I’ve always managed to write thank you notes that seem to tie everything together and still express gratitude.  But I  just can’t seem to find the words to say thanks to all of the people who have made just a great impact on my life.  I feel like I should do so much more than write a little note, but I know the gifts I’ve been given are greater than any bouquet of flowers or little knickknack that would do little than take up space. I think it’s best that I just say thanks.  It’s the least I can do.

So, if you’re one of the few people who actually read this blog and you’re also one of those who has supported me throughout the past two years [major brownie points for you, by the way], I just want to say thanks.  You’ll be getting a card, but please know it might not be as pretty as I’d like.  But that doesn’t mean our time together hasn’t been anything short of amazing.  What you’ve given me is worth so much more than a few words on card.  To you, I am very, very thankful.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. greekphysique / Aug 2 2010 8:30 pm

    Meg, I like this post a lot. I need to work on thanking some of my past teachers, for example. It truly is an art, and I save the cards that people have sent me. I hope that I can write cards worth saving myself!

Leave a Reply

