Skip to content
August 27, 2010 / Meg

And So It Begins………….

I still can’t believe classes start on Monday.  My bank account is definitely believing this, since I just dropped nearly $400 on books.  I haven’t spent that much since my first semester freshman year!  I bought quite a few online, but even those used books were pricey.  I forgot how much it costs to be a student.

Classes begin on Monday, but we already have a paper due on Tuesday!  We were required to read N.T. Wright’s Simply Christian over the summer, and our first writing assignment is due in just a few days.  Needless to say, I’ll be spending all day tomorrow in the library.  I also have a test in Greek on Monday and some required reading to finish for my Church History class.  It will be a busy weekend, but it’s all good.

This semester, I’m enrolled in 4 courses: Church History, Ancient Greek, Old Testament, and Making Disciples in the Wesleyan Tradition.  I’m a little nervous about Greek, but hopefully all of those French courses at Allegheny will somehow help.  I know the two aren’t connected, but I’m hoping the foundations of second language acquisition will at least be a little bit helpful.

It’s also going to be a very busy semester, as I’ve been recently hired at the Duke University Career Center!  We haven’t completely sorted out my responsibilities yet, but it will involve a little bit of programming and a little bit of working with students who are considering a career in the non-profit field.  It’s likely that I’ll also do some presentations on national service as a post-grad opportunity.  The director does a lot of work with the campus ministries here, so we’re hoping we can fit that in as well.  It’s going to a good but very busy year.

It goes without saying (but I’ll of course say it anyway) that I won’t be updating the blog nearly as often as I used to.  But I hope you’ll check in every now and then to see what I’m up to and how this new and exciting chapter of my life is going!  It’s another wonderful journey that’s just beginning.  I can’t wait to see what’s next!  Thank you for all of the support and prayers–I’ll do my best to update you all and share my thoughts on this amazing journey!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Darius Goins / Aug 30 2010 9:54 pm

    Nice post & good luck with all of your endeavors. I will be sure to check up on your posts from time to time.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

