Skip to content
September 4, 2010 / Meg

What I Learned This Week

Sometimes I walk around Duke’s campus and think to myself, “am I really a student here?”  I mean, have you seen this place?

A lot of people say it looks like something straight out of Harry Potter.  Since I’ve never read any of the Harry Potter books or seen any of the movies (crazy, I know), I can’t really comment.  But it’s gorgeous and it’s an awesome place to study theology.

Since I’m kind of exhausted but still have a lot of work to do (on a Friday night…welcome to Duke), I’m just going to make a big ol’ random list of what I learned this week.

  1. I might be good at romance languages (I speak French and Italian), but ancient Greek is a whole new world.  I’m hoping it will end up being a good challenge though.  After only one week of class, I’ve already learned 30% of the vocab in the New Testament.  Pretty rad.  If you’re a potential Duke Divinity student, take Greek with Eubank.  Trust me.
  2. I still don’t understand foursquare.  But I was mayor of the Duke Divinity Library for a few hours.
  3. I’m pretty sure each of my professors is a straight-up genius.
  4. I’m really glad I decided not to get cable TV because I’d never have time to watch it anyway.
  5. Listening to freshmen conversations on the Duke bus system is hilarious.  Freshman year seems like a lifetime ago.
  6. Taking a religious studies class in undergrad might have been a little bit helpful.  But I always do seem to do things the hard way.
  7. The vespers service at Duke Chapel on Thursday was amazing.  I’d try to describe it, but I just wouldn’t do it justice.  If you’re ever on West Campus on a Thursday afternoon, you must check it out.
  8. It’s pretty cool to see the installation of a new dean.  The last time Duke Divinity School had a new dean was in 1997.  Dean Hays seems like a pretty cool guy.  He even talked about Jon Stewart’s view of the UMC on the Daily Show.  Definitely a winner in my book.
  9. The community here is awesome.  The end.

That’s all I can think of for now, folks.  Tomorrow morning starts with worship and a few hours of community service with Basin & Towel, Duke Divinity School’s community service organization.  And then a few hours of homework before tailgating at the Duke-Elon game!  Rumor has it we might actually win…

Leave a Reply

