Skip to content
September 16, 2010 / Meg

Readjustment

Hi friends!  I promised myself I’d blog at least once a week, but that clearly hasn’t happened. Oops!  Let’s recap what’s been going on lately (brace yourself: it’s a long one)…

Things are going extraordinarily well here in Durham.  A few weekends ago I completed a service project with Basin & Towel, Duke Divinity’s community service organization.  There were 5 different service sites, but I was at TROSA (Triangle Residential Options for Substance Abusers).  We volunteered in a warehouse and helped them prepare for an upcoming sale.  I had never seen so much ranch dressing in my life!  It was a lot of fun getting to know fellow div students and community members.  And it was wonderful to hear the stories of the men at TROSA.  Two guys even sang songs for us–they were so talented.  It’s a fantastic organization and it was a blessing to serve there!

Readjusting to life as a full-time student has been a little bit challenging, but nothing too crazy.  Anyone who went to undergrad with me knows that I was the nerd who had papers done days (and sometimes weeks) before they were due.  Unfortunately, that’s just not really an option here.  Any given week I have a test and about 3 papers due.  Most of the papers are pretty short, but occassionally there are some longer ones thrown in there.  It sure is demanding, but we’re not at Duke for nothing.  Keeping a to-do list is a necessity, and if you open my planner, it’s a bit overwhelming.  But I’m happy here and I know that I’m still in an adjustment phase.  By this time next semester, everything will just be second nature (at least that’s what I’m telling myself)!

I had gone back and forth about taking ancient Greek before classes began, and even though we’re only a few weeks in, I’m so glad I did.  We already know more than half of the vocabulary in the New Testament, and it’s so cool to be able to open my  Greek bible and sort of have an understanding of what’s going on.  We’re already translating so much scripture–it’s really quite fascinating.  I love it.

One of the funniest things that I’ve noticed since I started here is how my last name is quite the conversation starter.  These people love St. Augustine 😉  We’re actually reading his Confessions for my church history class later this semester, so that should be interesting.   So many people think that it’s such a cool last name.  I guess I had never really thought about it before.  When I interviewed at a different seminary, a professor went on and on for like 5 minutes about how I pronounce it wrong.  He was so serious.  Maybe he never heard of the city in Florida?  Who knows.  At least it’s a good icebreaker!

I started my new job at the Duke Career Center as a Graduate Assistant.  I have actually worked in career centers for the past 5 years–3 as a Career Peer Advisor at Allegheny College as an undergrad and 2 as a full-time staff member at Winthrop University.  My responsibilities are quite similar to my job at Winthrop, but this time, I get to work on this:

I’m not sure what the project entails yet, but I’m fairly certain it’s going to be pretty rad.  Speaking of radness and my job, can I just tell you that my office is the bombdotcom?!?  Not only do we all use Macs here, but everything is brand new.  Plus the space is at least twice as big as my office at Winthrop–and I’m only here 10 hours a week!  It is straight-up fantastic.

We have worship 3 days a week at Goodson Chapel (the Divinity School’s chapel).  We aren’t required to attend worship, but I’ve attended at least twice each week.  I love it.  Third  year students have preached a few times and let me tell you: they are phenomenal.  I even asked one which professor she had for preaching and I was like I NEED TO LEARN HOW TO PREACH LIKE YOU.  It wasn’t even that awkward, if you can imagine that.  She said she felt the same way her first year and she told me which professor’s class I need to take.  Sa-weet.

My friends and I have been church hopping lately, but we all really liked the church we attended last week.  Worship at Duke Chapel is awesome, and there is a great community there.  But I’m trying to get out of the Duke bubble and find a smaller church.  We’ll see what happens!

Registration for Campout 2010 begins tomorrow!  More on that in a future post.

I hope you are all doing amazingly well.  I’m pretty terrible at staying in touch with people, so give me a holla sometime.

Leave a Reply

