Skip to content
October 7, 2010 / Meg

Like Flesh in a Cauldron

OOOOOH!  Now there’s a title that’ll grab your attention.  Or scare the bejeebees out of you.  I’m just that kind of blogger.

My apologies to any of my 20sb peeps, twitter friends, and other readers who have stumbled upon this blog lately and have seen a whole lot of nothing.  I’m kind of a terrible blogger…but I like to think that makes me a dedicated grad student.  😉

Fall break is next week and I promise to post something on here…whether it be a life update or an actual post.

In the meantime, I’d like to share with you a portion of one of the selected scriptures I will be reading as the lector at tonight’s Vespers service at Duke Chapel.  Now, I know a lot of you have never met me in real life and I’m not one of those vloggers so you don’t really know what my actual voice sounds like.  Well, let’s be real here folks–I have a pretty high pitched voice.  I was recently compared to this chick:

 

The love interest in Big Daddy. The one that isn't Adam Sandler.

 

and this one:

Yeah…not exactly flattering, but whatev.  Can I also note that I had no idea what Daria was when my voice was compared to her sister’s?  Oh the joys of growing up without cable tv.

Anyway, back to the text.  Here’s a quick glimpse of what I’ll be reading:

And I said:

Listen, you heads of Jacob

and rulers of the house of Israel!

Should you not know justice?–

you who hate the good and love the evil,

who tear the skin off my people,

and the flesh off their bones;

who eat the flesh of my people,

flay their skin off them,

break their bones in pieces,

and chop them up like meat in a kettle,

like flesh in a cauldron.

That’s just a little snapshot of Micah 3 for ya.  [The entirety of the first reading is Micah 3:1-8.] It’ll be fine…I just won’t have that deep, powerful voice that seems to erupt from the text (at least in my mind).  But if there’s anything I’ve learned, it’s not about the voice or the pitch–but the content of the message/scripture and how it affects you.  Hopefully it will go well!  The other readings are from Acts and Matthew.  It should be a good service!

Well folks, that’s all for now.  We’re going contra dancing tomorrow night!!  Can’t wait–love me some contra!  Check back for an update in a few days!!

Leave a Reply

