Skip to content
October 9, 2010 / Meg

Ode to Facebook Ads

I don’t like to vent.  Don’t get me wrong–I need to do so every once in a while, but it’s usually reserved for family and really close friends.  I certainly have my crappy days, but I’ve found that I’m definitely one of those “find the silver lining” kind of people.  I’m really, really blessed and I’m generally amazed at where I’m at.  To sum it up: life is pretty darn good.

But if I may (which, I will, since this is in fact my blog), I’d like to share my opinion on something.

Facebook ads might be the most annoying thing ever.  I understand that there is some weird tech thingy that creeps on my profile and adjusts the ad space to something that reflects my interests.  This is, however, clearly wrong.  Everyday.  Rather than just tell you about it, I thought I’d toss some ridiculousness into this blog.

Without further ado, here is my ode to facebook ads.

Oh dearest Facebook, so annoying must you be

With games and apps and quizzes, I hope you’re not offended that I always ignore thee

But when I finally sign on to chat with an old pal,

Must you remind me that I’m a single gal?

No I am not engaged, nor searching for a diamond ring

I do not care if you think this is life’s more important thing

I know you know I love Turbo Kick, this is without a doubt

But if you keep insisting that I need to build muscle mass, I may just pout

Shocking as it may be, I am quite content exactly where I am

And though I admire his ministry, I do not want to enter a contest to meet Billy Graham

I know you love these giveaways, as exciting (and probably fake) as they are

But I have no interest in winning an iPad or a car

You see, I would just like to sign on and see what is new

But you try to distract me with things that my interests aren’t related to

Do I want to become a registered nurse?  No, sorry

I’m happy with my M.Div and studying ministry

I know you cannot disappear, but this, I must say:

I would be quite content if you forever went away.

The end.  Thanks for letting me vent!  It’s been one of those “don’t take life too seriously” kind of days.  Maybe you noticed.  🙂

[PS: Am I the only one who finds these ads incredibly annoying?  What about social media gets on your nerves?  Feel free to share your thoughts in a comment!]

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Erica / Oct 10 2010 12:43 am

    I don’t know if you remember pre ad days, but they were delicious! In the beginning of facebook (according to a movie I recently viewed) they didn’t want to do ads because it wasn’t “cool”. Unfortunately making a ton of money is super cool though…

  2. Meg / Oct 11 2010 1:43 pm

    I very much like how you refer to pre-ad days as “delicious.” Quite the adjective, my dear. You know what else is delicious? Wing King. Wednesday night. Be there!

Leave a Reply

