Skip to content
December 7, 2010 / Meg

Headed to Haiti

January 12th will mark the one year anniversasy of the devastating earthquake in Haiti.  When it happened, I remember wanting to help so badly, and I just wanted to make a difference in some small way.  Knowing I couldn’t travel there at the time, my fellow group exercise instructors and I held a “Dance for Haiti” fundraiser that just happened to fall on my birthday.  I couldn’t imagine a better birthday celebration than burning some major calories, having fun, and, most importantly, making a difference through our fundraiser.

Dance for Haiti - February 11, 2010

Nearly a year later I’m happy to share that on March 5th, 2011 I will fly to Haiti as part of a mission team for 8 days.  I will be spending the week volunteering alongside 15 other team members, ranging from fellow Duke Divinity students and faculty/staff members to elementary teachers and ministers at local congregations.  For some of our team, it will be their 10th, 12th, and 15th time returning to Haiti.  For most of us, it will be our first time.

We’ll be volunteering at orphanages.  Building homes.  Teaching classes.  Crafting with children.  Worshipping.  Leading small group activities for pastors and church leaders.  It will be a busy week, but one that will certainly be formative for all who are involved.  I’m happy to report that we’re all currently learning Haitian Creole, so we can speak their language.  [Looks like that French degree is paying off after all! ;)]  I think we’re all excited and terrified at what we’ll learn and how much we’ll grow during the experience.  But mostly, we’re thrilled to give back to a place and people of such need.  It’s truly the least we can do.

In preparation for our mission trip, we need your help.  And in this lovely world of social media connectedness, what better way than to share this information with you on my blog?

How you can help our Haiti Mission Team:

Prayers.  Become one of our prayer warriors!  The people of Haiti need your prayers.  We need your prayers.

Fundraising.  Oh boy…isn’t that a scary word?  Yes, yes it is.  But let’s be honest here–the majority of our team consists of a bunch of broke seminary students.  The biggest cost for us is the flight to Haiti.  Here’s how you can help us fundraise!

  • Do you attend/work for a church in the Raleigh/Durham area?  Anywhere within a 2 hour radius?  Let us speak to your congregation!  We’d love to talk to y’all before the trip and do a follow-up when we return.  A special offering could be taken too 😉
  • Are you a pastor who needs a Sunday off prior to March 5th?  Let one of us preach for you!  We have a talented group of guys and gals from various denominations, the vast majority of whom are at divinity school to prepare for a vocation in ordained ministry.  All we ask for in return is an offering for our trip!  [Plus, we all need more experience preaching!  It’s a win-win :)]
  • Do you have a fellowship time between services at your church?  Let us come and serve some Haitian coffee for your parishoners.  We’ll keep a donation cup by the coffee pot, so you don’t have to worry about a thing!
  • Are you part of a church nowhere near Durham, NC but still want to help?   Interested in hosting a fundraiser or having a collection in our honor?   Are you just an individual who wants to start off 2011 donating to a very worthy cause? Simply leave a comment or contact me at megaugustine@gmail.com and we can work it out!
  • Can you bake? I’m contemplating hosting an online bake sale…let me know if you’re interested!
  • Are you tech-savvy? Do you have any ideas for fundraising through the blogosphere?  Do you know if it’s possible to set up a pay-pal account on a wordpress.com blog? [I’d be willing to switch to .org to make this happen!  I’m just scared I’ll end up losing all of my posts in the process, since I’m not exactly tech-savvy.]
  • Please spread the word!  Just click on one of the sharing buttons below or link to this post on your blog to help us out!

Other donations.  I’m not entirely sure what all we will be collecting, but I know we will be taking lots of supplies with us, including baby formula.  I will get you the info as soon as I have it.

I thank you for taking the time to read this and considering to support our Haiti Mission Team in any way.  Please keep the people of Haiti and our team in your thoughts and prayers.  And if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact me!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. greekphysique / Dec 7 2010 4:38 pm

    Hi Meg. What a lovely idea! I suggest putting a fundraising widget on your page here that will connect to Paypal. You can do that via chipin.com or fundrazr.com. Good luck! 🙂

  2. Meg / Dec 7 2010 6:28 pm

    Awesome!!! Thank you 🙂

  3. Evan Ashcraft / Dec 11 2010 4:32 am

    You continue to amaze.

    • Meg / Dec 11 2010 4:33 pm

      Awww thanks Evan!

Trackbacks

  1. Learning about Orthodoxy from #43 « megaugustine.com
  2. One Year « megaugustine.com
  3. Where I’m At Today. « megaugustine.com
  4. Unglamorous. « life in bloom
  5. Unglamorous. — life in bloom

Leave a Reply

