Skip to content
January 10, 2011 / Meg

One Year

Wednesday, January 12, 2011 marks the one year anniversary since the devastating earthquake in Haiti.

Source

Source

Source

As I’ve mentioned before, in March I’ll travel to Haiti with a Mission Team comprised of students at Duke University, University of North Carolina, North Carolina State University, Duke faculty/staff members, and pastors and members from local United Methodist Churches.  That sounds like a lot of people–but our team is comprised of only 16 members.

I’m excited and nervous about going to Haiti–I know it will be an experience that will change my life.  Though I’ve done mission work in Nicaragua before (the second poorest country in our hemisphere–Haiti is the poorest), I’m certain going to Haiti will be a totally different and eye-opening experience.  I’m also thrilled that I’ll be able to use my language skills (I’m fluent in French and currently learning Haitian Creole) throughout the time I’ll spend in Haiti.  But most importantly, I hope to be able to give back and make a positive difference in a place that has faced so much devastation and suffering.

Although I’m thrilled about the opportunity to go to Haiti in March, I think it’s most important to be present and focus on what’s happening right now.  I hope that we can unite for a time of remembrance on the one year anniversary of the earthquake that literally shook the world.

If you’re in the Raleigh/Durham/Triangle area, there will be a brief vigil of remembrance for the people of Haiti on the Duke Chapel steps on Wednesday, January 12th at 4:53pm.

meet here!

Source

January 12th at 4:53pm marks the date and time of the earthquake that forever changed Haiti.  Prayers and readings will be offered during this time of remembrance.

The event is open to the public, and is sponsored by the Chaplain’s Office at Duke Divinity School.

There will likely be similar vigils across the nation on Wednesday.  Please take time to remember the people of Haiti, and see how you can get involved in your local community.

Leave a Reply

