Skip to content
January 15, 2011 / Meg

Steelers-Ravens Round Three

Game day.  Yes, I’m going to the Blue Devils game in a few hours, but this is much more important than that (no offense to my fellow Dukies).

Steelers. Ravens.  It’s not normal how nervous/excited I am for this game.

This is the biggest rivalry in the nation.  It’s like Duke-UNC but multiplied by a million.  Seriously.

I’m nervous because I think it’s incredibly difficult to play any team–especially your rivals–three times in one season.  But we’ve beat them before and we will beat them again.  I’m confident.  I know the Steelers are too.

But really, I’m not writing this post to talk about the rivalry, the fact that I cringe every time those Ray Lewis Old Spice commercials are played, or the fact that we might have to play the Patriots next week.

Really, I’m here to brag.

Because ohmigoodness it’s game day and LAWRENCE TIMMONS TWEETED ME!

It all started with this: someone tweeted a link with an article about Timmons being from Florence, SC (not far from Rock Hill, where I lived for the past 2 years).  So I retweeted it and said:

I’m one of those people who uses hashtags (e.g. #steelers) a lot, but I don’t really tweet at famous people all that often.  It really didn’t even occur to me that I was doing so this time, since the author of the original tweet had included him and I just copied and pasted (and shortened) the tweet.  But then I woke up today to this:

Yes, that’s his official account.  And yes, he tweeted me the day of the Steelers Ravens playoff game.  I know most of you don’t care, but most Steelers fans would qualify this as pretty rad.

So I of course followed up with this:

And then I had to throw this out there, but didn’t tag him in the tweet because he really doesn’t need to know how obnoxious I am (obviously that’s just reserved for my twitter followers and you lovely blog readers!).

Long story short is: Lawrence Timmons tweeted me on game day.  I’m a nerd and blogged about it.  And now I’m off to the Duke game and then going to watch the Steelers game!

Black and yellow black and yellow black and yellow… HERE WE GO STEELERS HERE WE GO!

Happy Saturday!  Hope you’re cheering on the Steelers today!  I’ll be back with a normal post in another day or two 🙂

Leave a Reply

