Skip to content
January 28, 2011 / Meg

On Blogging.

I didn’t make a list of new year’s resolutions this year.  I’m generally one who loves goal lists, but for some reason I just wasn’t feeling it this year.  I’ve learned that living more faithfully, eating healthier, and getting good grades are something I try to do on a daily basis.  For the first time in a long time, the list just didn’t happen.

But if I would have made a new year’s resolution, it would have been to blog more often.  You see, I have a really bad habit of neglecting this blog far too often.  I have an insane amount of posts in my draft folder, but some of them aren’t developed enough, some are kind of lame, and others I just can’t seem to hit “publish” on.

Nonetheless, I’ve resolved to blog more often.  With the “Press This” WordPress application, I’m excited to share fun articles with y’all!  I’ll also write some posts, but–at least during the academic year–there will probably be less original posts and more “Press This” posts.  I’m okay with that.  Priorities are necessary.  Plus, I’m still trying to find my “blog voice” and the focus of this blog.

With regard to changes, they will be happening–but not until this summer.  I’ve been doing a lot of blogging research and have found that I’ve broken some of the cardinal rules of blogging (e.g. never use your name for your blog title, only write short posts), so I’m not sure how many major changes will take place.  I’m torn about the title because this is my blog; to fit it solely into a “faith” or “health” or “football fanatic” category just wouldn’t work.  [This goes right back to “finding my blog voice” and “figuring out the focus of this blog.”]  It will all come with time, I’m sure.  In the meantime, if anyone has any name suggestions, feel free to send them my way!

Additionally, there will be some cosmetic changes on here (definitely taking place this summer).  If anyone out there is a good (but affordable) blog designer, or if you are looking to spruce up your portfolio, hit me up.

With regard to focus and content, I’m kind of struggling.  I don’t want to be too preachy on here, but I still want to develop my thoughts and ideas and share those with y’all.  But they aren’t always related to my faith–sometimes they’ll relate to fitness or school or football (I guess that one is pretty obvious!).  I don’t want to be so narrowed down that I’m not being real and honest and…well…me.  (Do you get what I’m saying?  Can you tell I’ve been thinking about this entirely too much?)  Also, I want to get to know you guys!  That’s why I make crazy videos asking who you’re rooting for in football games.  If we’re not using social media to get to know each other and share ideas and truly connect, then what are we really doing?

So as you can tell, I have a bunch of ideas running around in my head.  I actually think I’ve been reading too much “how to improve your blog” stuff and should really just be blogging.  But you know, I’m kind of a recovering perfectionist.  I’m just trying to make my little corner of the internet the best it can be.  Thanks to all of you for coming along for the ride!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. greekphysique / Jan 30 2011 3:32 am

    Here are my three ideas on it all. For the record, I used to try to blog more professionally, and I’ve read a lot of the same articles.
    1) DO blog under an assumed name and hide your identity a little. It does help, unless you intend to use your blog completely for work purposes. Most of the time, there is no big deal about using your real name, but every so often, odd things can happen. Taking even the simple step of calling your blog “The Meginator” ha, instead of your full name can accomplish that.
    2) DO NOT worry too much about fitting in one blog category exactly. Yes, it’s preferred if you decide you want to be a blog star in one area. But you seem more interested in connecting with some dedicated readers than having a big audience that wouldn’t interact with you as much, right? I have written a very narrow blog, and a wide blog (the one I have now), and I found a more broad category more fun.
    3) DO network a lot with other bloggers. I do miss my early blog experience–I only had about 15 readers, but they were all of similar faith and life place, and it was wonderful to get opinions from them. Now, of course, be careful; at one point, I became so addicted to meeting new readers and getting to know each one that it was unhealthy. But that was my fault for poor online/real life balance.
    Best of luck Meg! If you need any help let me know. I like your blog a lot and want you to be happy writing here 🙂

Leave a Reply

