Skip to content
February 10, 2011 / Meg

The Accent Vlog.

I saw this post on Caitlin’s blog, and had to participate.  Since I’m starting to try out this whole vloggin thing, I figured this would be a great vlog post!

Growing up in Pittsburgh, I spoke Pittsburghese, which is just Pittsburgh-talk.  We “redd up” our rooms (rather than clean up), love our favorite “keller” (that’s how we pronounce color), call each other “yinz” (instead of “y’all”), can be pretty “nebby” (nosy), eat chipped ham (I’m not even sure if there is an equivalent for this), and use “gum bands” (rubber bands).  I actually didn’t even know they were called rubber bands until I went to college.  Seriously.

But all dialect aside, I’ve been told that I have an unusual accent.  I grew up in the North, but have been living in the South since I graduated college.  When I first moved to South Carolina, people would ask me to say weird things because they thought my “yankee” accent was funny.  By the time I went home for Thanksgiving, everyone was wondering what happened to me since I suddenly said “y’all” and had developed a drawl (or twang? I still don’t know the difference!).

I of course don’t think I have an accent at all, but you can judge for yourself!

[I definitely didn’t make my bed or turn on any lights…sorry friends!  And I promise that I do wear clothes other than that Steelers hoodie.]

Want to participate in the accent vlog?

State the following words:

Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

And answer the following questions!

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  • What do you call gym shoes?
  • What do you say to address a group of people?
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
  • What do you call your grandparents?
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

So what’s the verdict: northern or southern accent?  Just a really weird one?  No accent at all?

Hope you’ll join in on the fun!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julia / Feb 12 2011 1:14 pm

    Giiiirl if you were a true Southerner, you would know that the bug that curls up in a ball is a Roly-Poly and that you say “The Devil is beating his wife” when it rains while the sun in shining!!! This was a really cool post, but I couldn’t figure out my accent either. Guess that’s what I get for have a Yankee mom and a Southern dad!

    • Meg / Feb 12 2011 2:23 pm

      A Roly-Poly? Weeeeeird. That sounds like a type of candy or game. And I’ve never heard of this Devil as a wifebeater craziness. I’m a slacker when it comes to this southernness stuff LOL

Leave a Reply

