Skip to content
February 14, 2011 / Meg

Worst. Date. Ever.

Because if we’re not getting roses and chocolate, we at least need a good laugh, right?!?

In honor of Singles Awareness Day (aka Valentine’s Day for those of you in a relationship), this post by the hilarious Jon Acuff inspired me to share my most embarrassing date story.  Seriously, this should at least win me a People’s Choice Award or something.

It all started last year when I ran into this guy that I had met when I first moved to the Charlotte area in 2008.  After a month of flirtacious texting, we finally went on a date.  Although it was going pretty well, I didn’t really expect him to kiss me goodnight. But he did.

Then he pulled away and gasped. I was thinking, “Dang, it wasnt that bad was it?” but then I looked down…and saw that I had hives all over my arms and chest….so I ran to the bathroom and looked in the mirror. My face was the size of a balloon and as red as a tomato, COVERED in hives. My lips were the size of Kansas and Nebraska. He had no idea I was deathly allergic to oranges and drank orange juice that morning (the kiss was around midnight, if that gives you an idea of how severe my allergies are).

Needless to say it was a long, medicine filled evening. He felt horrible, so we decided to go on another date sans oranges. We went on a pretty precious hike the next day and then went out to lunch afterwards.  Then at the restaurant, I slipped on the floor, wiped out, and BROKE THE HEEL off of my shoe.  [Let’s be real, ladies–the heel breaking is clearly the most traumatic part.]  The manager came out to see if I was okay, and the couple  at the table next to us gave me this dirty nasty look like how dare you ruin my lunch.  Well excuuuuse me.

Those 48 hours are probably the most embarrassing of my life. Needless to say, we aren’t together now. [The funny part is that we continued “talking” for a few weeks after this.  Then I went out of town for a weekend, and by the time I returned, he was suddenly with his ex again.  Just 2 weeks ago, he texted me to apologize for everything that happened (regarding the whole returning to the ex situation).  All is well in the world, friends.]

But you know, just maybe the massive allergic reaction and the making a fool of myself while breaking my favorite heels should have been clear-cut signs that we wouldn’t last long, LOL. At least I can laugh about it now. :)

Your turn!  What’s your worst date ever?

181 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. greekphysique / Feb 14 2011 10:54 am

    Oh my! Meg, do I have your permission to do a post about the kiss bad date on my site? I just want to copy that whole paragraph and link to the awesomeness–that’s the worst “romance gone bad” story I’ve heard in a long, long time.

  2. Meg / Feb 14 2011 10:58 am

    Hahaha sure. My life is an open book; I clearly have no shame. Feel free to link it. Happy Valentine’s Day! 🙂

  3. Mikalee Byerman / Feb 14 2011 11:12 am

    Wow. That is classic!

    I have too many bad dates to mention, but one does stand out (I even blogged about it). Of course, it was my first real date post-divorce: the time I ran into my ob-gyn at the restaurant (accompanied by the new guy). My doc kept looking at me, then my date, then me, then my date, as if to say, “That’s not the guy who fed you ice chips while your legs were in stirrups last time I saw you…”

    Happy VD! 😉

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:26 am

      Oh my, that’s too funny!! I couldn’t imagine running into my OBGYN on a date! Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. ElenaSC / Feb 14 2011 11:12 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day everybody! Let’s commit today to love more often! http://wp.me/pXsUB-H9

  5. Oh, poor girl! At least you have a great sense of humor about it. But those pretty much make the top fifteen worst things you would want to happen on a date. Thanks for sharing, and hope you have a great day!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:30 am

      Oh yes, it was the WORST! But looking back, it was so funny. 🙂

  6. CollectiveDisclosure / Feb 14 2011 11:20 am

    Oh no, your poor shoe! Kidding! Glad you survived. Congrats on FP. I have an awful Valentine’s story at: http://collectivedisclosure.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/my-worst-valentines-day-if-you-can-call-it-that/ .

    Caitlin

  7. Seasweetie / Feb 14 2011 11:21 am

    Thanks for sharing this, Meg – I wish there were pictures, but I’m sure you have them burned into your memory! I just wrote about my Worst Date Ever last month – you can find it here: http://seasweetie.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/a-old-memory-the-worst-first-date-ever/

    Happy Anti-Valentines Day.

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:29 am

      There are definitely no pictures. The worst part is that HE probably has that image of my giant swelled face burned into his mind, LOL! I’m gonna check out your worst date story too!!! And yes, Happy anti Valentine’s Day 🙂

  8. littlenavyfish / Feb 14 2011 11:24 am

    Oh man, that’s pretty bad. Quite a few years ago, I bit a guy’s tongue when kissing him for the first time. That was fairly horrendous. Miraculously he didn’t run screaming as we’re still together 5 years later. I admire you for going on a second date after the Hive Incident!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:32 am

      LOL! So glad y’all are still together though!!!!

    • imaginecreation / Feb 14 2011 7:45 pm

      I bit my husband’s lip the very first time we kissed (pre-marriage), totally accidental obviously . . . he still married me but omg, I was so embarrassed at the time!

  9. Carly / Feb 14 2011 11:28 am

    It could be worse – your boyfriend could have forgotten to call you at all:

    http://bofadeez.blogspot.com/2011/02/planning-awesome-valentines-day-in-five.html

  10. Lady Di / Feb 14 2011 11:32 am

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    Worst date? 16th birthday. I had just broken up with my longterm lust (I’d lived next to him since I was 5). He had begun dating my best friend, who had recently broken up with her ex.

    Of course the best possible thing to do was double date for dinner and a movie. Best friends with each other’s ex’s. Awkward. Couldn’t wait for the evening to end.

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:39 am

      I didn’t even know what it meant to be freshly pressed–just went to WordPress and saw my post. This is craaaazy! I guess this means I may have to post some more humorous posts from now on 🙂 I’m loving hearing all of these funny date stories, though!!

  11. J Roycroft / Feb 14 2011 11:39 am

    Great post. Congrats on FP

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:42 am

      Thank you!! I didn’t even know what that meant until today, LOL!

  12. Ascentive / Feb 14 2011 11:42 am

    Wow, I’m glad that most of my dates have been ok, although rather few and in-between.

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:50 am

      This was definitely the only eventful one I’ve ever had!

  13. badtwincam / Feb 14 2011 11:47 am

    Have been married so many years (33….Yeah, I’m THAT old….) that I don’t even know the meaning of the word “date”, Lol! However I’ m sure the Missus has all kinds of ….Uh….Stories….
    Be glad that you are young and single….

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 11:50 am

      My parents would say the same thing. They’ve been married since 1976. They sure do get a kick out of this story though, LOL.

  14. CrystalSpins / Feb 14 2011 11:48 am

    So do you tell guys that you’re that allergic to oranges before you go on dates with them so that this sort of thing doesn’t happen all the time?

    I didn’t have an allergic reaction, but I do have a bad date story that has elicited many groans: http://crystalspins.com/2010/07/23/result-of-date-no-sparks/.

    Crystal

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 12:06 pm

      No…I probably should though! I guess I just don’t really go on enough dates, lol.

      • CrystalSpins / Feb 14 2011 7:32 pm

        Well I’m glad you came out of it okay. It is too bad things didn’t work out with the fella. Man life without oranges. I don’t think I could date you. That’s a deal-breaker. 😉

  15. Lindsay / Feb 14 2011 11:50 am

    Yep, you definitely deserve an award of some sort for this! I can’t believe how severe your allergy to oranges is, you poor thing!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 12:06 pm

      LOL thanks! Yes, my allergies are terrible. And being allergic to oranges/clementines/and other related fruit is such a strange allergy anyway!

  16. badtwincam / Feb 14 2011 12:02 pm

    Well, hell….There was one time back in ’72 ….Had a chick at the drive-in an’ got my knee stuck in the horn of Dads ’71 Chevy….
    Crap, you guys prolly don’t know what a “drive-in” is….

    • Keraleigh / Feb 14 2011 12:53 pm

      Drive-in’s are the best. There are only a few left in the U.S now, which is just a shame. Now, I absolutely feel like going to one. 🙂

  17. melissasmeanderings / Feb 14 2011 12:06 pm

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! What a great “horrible” date story!!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 12:14 pm

      Haha thanks!!!

  18. dearexgirlfriend / Feb 14 2011 12:06 pm

    at least you know to avoid mimosas!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 12:14 pm

      Oh yes! I’ve never had one before, that’s for sure!!!

  19. The Big Avocado / Feb 14 2011 12:25 pm

    Gotta love a bad date story. Happy Valentines day.

    The bad date is in the second 1/2:
    http://bigavocado.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/cougars-and-their-cubs/

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:51 pm

      Bad date stories are the best 😉

  20. Mariha Lowe / Feb 14 2011 12:27 pm

    Oh dear lord thats a bad date! but its is funny 🙂
    youve inspired me to blog about mine 🙂

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:51 pm

      Yay! Can’t wait to read it 🙂

  21. Solomon II / Feb 14 2011 12:33 pm

    On a first date with a beautiful Brazilian girl I had been actively pursuing for a while, I fell flat on my face in the movie theater. But it wasn’t just the fall – I fell and caught the back of the chair which steadied me for a moment. Then it reclined and I fell and caught the seat which steadied me for a moment. Then it lowered, and I finished my trip to the floor. It literally took me 30 seconds to fall – making my embarrassing moment in slow motion.

    Luckily, the episode was so ridiculous that she thought I was goofing around just trying to make her laugh. I married her two years later.

    • Keraleigh / Feb 14 2011 12:51 pm

      This is a great comment!! Totally sweet.

    • nataliecone / Feb 14 2011 1:44 pm

      When I read this, I burst out laughing at work, sitting in my cubicle, just laughing hysterically all by myself. First of all, thanks alot for making me look crazy, Solomon! Secondly, thank you even more for a MOST hilarious comment!! I’m still fighting laughter as I type this. You are awesome… LOL!!!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:52 pm

      So funny! But such a happy ending 🙂 Love it!

    • Daniela / Feb 14 2011 5:38 pm

      You gotta love these slow motion scenes when the world stops for some moments and you get a hint that you have no idea about who you are and about what the heck is going on.

      Brazilian girls have a good sense of humor and like goofy guys. You did it all right.

  22. Vasare / Feb 14 2011 12:36 pm

    lol great post! funny story:)! my valentines didn’t start to good today either… while I was at uni, my Boyfriend ran to the shop to buy me a gift and left the keys inside, so we spent most of the day locked out in the cold waiting for other housemate to let us in … eating Mark & Spencers sandwich instead of a nice meal he was going to cook… well better later than never [he is cooking now] 😀
    congrats on FP btw!

  23. Keraleigh / Feb 14 2011 12:43 pm

    I was single last year this time too. So I have my own Valentine’s Day tradition. Go buy myself a huge box of chocolates, new pack of batteries, lock all the doors, secure the windows and spend the day with B.O.B.

    Hey, come tomorrow when lonely girls are trying to snap out of the sad mood I’m whistling and there’s a skip in my step.

    Happy Valentine’s Day ladies!

    • bookmole / Feb 15 2011 5:39 am

      lol – best way to celebrate!

  24. Evie Garone / Feb 14 2011 12:50 pm

    I don’t think I could top those dates…you poor, poor girl…Ha, ha, ha, but look on the bright side you’re Freshly Pressed! Keep the stories coming!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:53 pm

      I literally didn’t even know what it meant to be Freshly Pressed until today. This whole situation is hilarious! My mom always said I should write a book about my hilarious dating stories… perhaps I should post a few more!!

      • icanonlybfree / Feb 15 2011 2:27 am

        This was hilarious!!! You probably should write a book. I did and my friends were cracking up at the characters I met along the way. It is amazing what some guys will do. I look forward to reading more.

  25. Kathryn McCullough / Feb 14 2011 12:50 pm

    These kinds of unprecidented heel-breaking incidents are good for the soul–ha, ha–humbling. However, the expereince did wiin you freshly pressed, so congrats!
    blogging from Haiti,
    Kathy

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:54 pm

      Blogging from Haiti?!? I’m flying to Port au Prince on March 5th!!!!! I have a few posts about my upcoming trip.

  26. I Made You A Mixtape / Feb 14 2011 12:52 pm

    LMAO! THe allergic reaction was bad enough, cannot believe you actually managed to have “disasters” on both dates! Sure sign to move on! :o)

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:55 pm

      I know, right?!? Only me….

  27. Just think on your future dates that it can’t get any worse than what you’ve already gone through! It also makes for a great story. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed & Happy Valentines Day!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:56 pm

      Haha this one certainly put things into perspective! Happy Valentine’s Day!!!!!

  28. maryaltermanwrites / Feb 14 2011 1:17 pm

    I can never get over how beautiful women like you obviously are (from your photo) are still wondering around in the Universe single! When homely people like me manage to nag a guy.

    I don’t know about my most embarrassing date, but what comes to mind is the night I met my hubbie at a New Years Eve party in NYC. He had been driving a cab and came to the party late, dressed like an awkward Elton John remake with pants with different color legs and pockets (which I made him throw out after we dated for awhile). He thought I was a shy girl Iowa farm girl (the Iowa part was true, not the shy part). I blew my cover immediately when he asked me what we should do later that evening (it was obvious to us both already that it was love at first sight).
    Being a liberated woman of the sixties, I said what any all-American, rebellious twenties something girl would have said, “Let’s go to your apartment and f—.

    He loves to tell that story. I, on the other hand, can’t believe it was me. Gees, I was way out of my mind back then. Fortunately for me, my guardian angel was watching my back. Twenty-five years later and we’re still happily married.

    • aspiringtobesomeone / Feb 14 2011 3:22 pm

      That’s just funny and awesome. Least it all worked out.

  29. dovetailedlife / Feb 14 2011 1:22 pm

    You have gone viral. Teach me your ways?

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:57 pm

      When I figure them out, I’ll let you know! LOL

  30. The thirteenth monkey. / Feb 14 2011 1:26 pm

    oh meh gawd hahaha 😀

  31. nataliecone / Feb 14 2011 1:26 pm

    Love the post!! That really has me written all over it–I am one of the most clumsy people you’ll ever meet!

    My worst date was with a guy that I’d met in college. He was a youth director at a local church. He invited me to a movie, and I accepted. I am a fan of tall guys and all that (my husband is 6’2″), but his 6’7″ frame was a little too much for me. I met him at his apartment and climbed into his truck, where he grinned at me with a toothpick hanging out of his mouth. When we pulled up at the movies, he took the toothpick out of his mouth and stabbed it into the fabric above the driver’s door, along with about a dozen others. “Are those… USED?” I asked. He smiled with pride. “Never know when you might need one.” Strike one. Next, he bought our tickets without asking what I wanted to see. The choice of movie was Elf (how romantic for a first date, right?). I was far too annoyed to find it funny, even though it is typically my kind of humor. Strike two. When the lights dimmed, he proceeded to put dip in his lip. Strike three. Then he spit his black, grainey saliva onto the floor through the course of the movie. Strike four. Somewhere in there, he managed to tell me that he does not wear underwear. Yep, going commando. And he begins making jokes about how his jeans will sometimes chafe. Strike… whatever that is times infinity. I was so anxious to get back to my car and never see the guy again.

    • Meg / Feb 19 2011 11:11 am

      Oh my goodness, that is tragic. The toothpicks and dip are enough to make me run away too. But admitting he goes commando? Just gross. Glad you found yourself a good husband!!! 🙂

  32. ournote2self / Feb 14 2011 1:48 pm

    Hahaha! That’s hilarious! That’s great that you are able to laugh about it now though. 😉 I often write about embarrassing things that happen to me. Check out my blog at http://www.ournote2self.wordpress.com

  33. Jenni C. / Feb 14 2011 1:49 pm

    That is a funny experience! At least you will always have a good story to tell at the dinner table!

  34. 2blu2btru / Feb 14 2011 1:58 pm

    As someone who is allergic to oranges (and chocolate, horror of horrors, right?), I completely sympathize with you…and as someone who has broken a heel (or two) in her day. The universe was trying to tell you something on this one. Like you said, at least you can look back and laugh about things like this. Fun post!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 3:59 pm

      I’ve never known anyone else allergic to oranges!!!!! I’m so glad I’m not alone in the world 🙂 And yes, the universe much have been trying to tell me something, because I was clearly clueless (and clumsy!)

  35. Romantic Asian Guy / Feb 14 2011 2:00 pm

    Haha what a classic story! But I’m sure they’ll go down in your memory book as some good times to look back on:)

  36. iyepes / Feb 14 2011 2:10 pm

    Happy Singles’ Awareness Day, I found out this exists and I really enjoy having a day for all of us without a relationship, for the reason it was.

    My worst date actually didn’t happen too. I was at the University and I was talking to a guy, so I thought which could be a good place for a date, so, there was a Book Fair developing at that time, and I thought it could be a good choice.

    The next day a strong rain and wind destroyed the conventions center ceiling and the Fair was cancelled.

    After that, every time a strange situation avoids a date to be done, I say “Expositions ceiling allways fall down”

  37. CaseyAlyssa / Feb 14 2011 2:14 pm

    Wow that’s both funny and awful at the same time!
    My worst had to be this… a couple years ago I went on a date with a guy in Manchester CT, which is at least an hour drive away from me. It wasn’t great because the guy was shorter than me, talked about the “blue butterflies” he got around me and introduced me to his mother on the first date who said I “was just like a barbie!”
    Well that’s not the worst of it. Clearly.
    About a year later I meet another guy from Manchester (after the first date with the other guy we stopped talking.. he was too weird for me). This guy said he was living at his friend’s house temporarily while his friend was on duty in the Marines. Okay cool, but we get to the house and ITS THE SAME HOUSE FROM THE OTHE DATE. So I get inside and the mother is on the couch, doesn’t recognize me and goes “She looks like a Barbie!” After i realized how completely weird it would be I basically apologized and took off, but i’m never dating guys from Manchester again after that.

  38. nearlynormalized / Feb 14 2011 2:27 pm

    I’m still on the allergic to oranges reaction…Wow, when did you find that out and have you had anymore reactions? Dates will come and go, but oranges are forever.

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 4:01 pm

      Oh yes, I’ve had many tragic allergic reactions. My worst allergic reaction ever was to Chinese food…I didn’t realize it was cooked with an orange peel!! My face and lips stayed swollen for 5 hours after my hives went away following the reaction. Food allergies are scary, so I have to be really careful.

  39. countoncross / Feb 14 2011 2:39 pm

    Sooooo Funny! Love the post, great site! -Thanks for sharing with us.

  40. kuby2u / Feb 14 2011 2:46 pm

    What a great story! You my dear are a wonderful blessing by God. Congrats on being FreshlyPressed

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 4:01 pm

      Aww thank you!

  41. shythom / Feb 14 2011 2:50 pm

    i think maybe those things that happened was a blessing in disguise. it was evident he still had feelings for his ex at the time.

    the universe works in mysterious ways.

    thanks for sharing – good that you can laught at it. it sort of reminds me of will smith’s movie, ‘hitch.’ (he also has an allergic reaction while on a date).

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 4:02 pm

      My friends actually called me Hitch for a good 3 months after this happened. They still make fun of me for it today! 🙂

  42. rtcrita / Feb 14 2011 3:04 pm

    Wow! You’re gonna have to start pre-screening your dates on what they ate that day so you don’t have another horrible incident like that one with the hives. It could end up being a good way to make sure you get a kiss at the end of the night. Just say something like, “I need to know if you had oranges at any time today.” When they ask why, you can tell them about your mishap with the other guy and laugh about it. It will be a good way to get on the subject of kissing!

    • Meg / Feb 14 2011 4:02 pm

      Lol, true!

  43. Addison / Feb 14 2011 3:06 pm

    That is awful, but also funny at the same time. I would of had a mental break down if my heel snapped off. It would of ruined my whole entire time!

  44. eva626 / Feb 14 2011 3:08 pm

    great story !!!! i reli liked it…cant wait to read more of your posts! and congrats on being freshly pressed!!!

  45. Laura Bruzzese / Feb 14 2011 3:39 pm

    Great story! I can’t believe how severe those allergies are… eek! I think my worst date ever would be a recent one with a guy who literally talked about himself the ENTIRE night. Literally did not ask a single question about me, not even “how was your day?” After a while, I just started entertaining myself by making strange statements like, “Well, I shaved a goat once and the results were incredible,” just to see if he would respond. Nope. Excused myself to the bathroom for 20 minutes to call my family (they were having a big dinner together that I was regretting passing up) to ask what the time limit is for narcissists… how many minutes should pass without expressing an interest in me before they are permanently dismissed? They all agreed that 90 min was far too long to have suffered: leave. now. Clueless, Mr. Himself actually emailed me again for another date but I said “we” had never dated — just him with the idea of me. Hmf! But if you’d like a sweeter Valentine’s story, here’s my single-girl contribution http://liveclay.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/hearts-glowers/

  46. campanita1981 / Feb 14 2011 3:55 pm

    Wow this sounds tragic lol… good post 😉

  47. thescreamingkettle / Feb 14 2011 4:06 pm

    I thought it was funny that you read Acuff, because I follow his blog too and saw his post today. Your orange story has to be the winner!

  48. sarahloub / Feb 14 2011 4:16 pm

    Thanks for the smiles today–from your post and from the stories you inspired others to share! (And congrats on getting FP!) I wish I had a good-bad date story to share… but there’s not much to say about most of the dates I’ve been on. I hope you have a wonderful Valentine’s/Singles Awareness Day!

  49. modiana / Feb 14 2011 4:18 pm

    Oh… that was really one of the worst dates I´ve heard about… 🙂
    Well, I don´t have a story like that… well, Happy Valentine´s Day:)

  50. curiousteens / Feb 14 2011 4:19 pm

    wow!! well it could have been worst i like the part when you were sitting at the table and the people next to you were looking at you.Thanks for sharing<3

  51. bluerosegirl08 / Feb 14 2011 4:22 pm

    I believe your worst date story takes the compared to anything I can post.

  52. Marissa Jean / Feb 14 2011 4:26 pm

    I love that you can laugh about it! Most people would never dare post something like that online 🙂

    My most embarrassing one is totally one that embarrassed both me and my boyfriend. It was our first date, around 4 years ago. We went on a date with friends of mine, and they were all over each other the entire time… like, literally, on top of each other during the movie! My boyfriend and I had not kissed yet, so we were just sitting there holding hands and kept awkwardly looking at each other. Good times. We’re still together though, so I guess it was not too bad 🙂

  53. I Don't Understand Art / Feb 14 2011 4:41 pm

    Hahaha!
    So, this is my worst date ever.

    It was with this guy with whom I had made out a couple of times years before in a club. He was always pretty quiet, but I remember him being a very passionate little boy (I say little boy because although he was 26 at the time, he looked way younger and was super short and skinny); one night I even got home scarred and everything.

    This said; like two years after those making out sessions at The Roxy, he asks me out. Back in the day I quite liked the boy so I dais, oh what the hell, I don’t have anything better to do.

    We met at a square that is surrounded by bars. Sat down, and well… NOT talked. I knew he was quiet, but he wouldn’t talk to me! I asked the occasional question and tried to keep things light but all I got was…YAWWWWWNNN. Hahahah, the guy yawned in my face! Not pleased with that, his body language was terrible. He sat with one leg up, his elbow on his knee, and his face behind his arm.

    Ironically, this was not the worst part for me. What really disturbed me was… he smoke MY cigarrettes!!! MYYY CIGARRETTESSSS!!! I mean dude, how cheap are you!

    Time came to ask for the check. We went dutch, and left. He accompanied me to the bus stop (event though I reaaally didn’t want him to), and… kissed me!!! like, seriously?!

    The funny thing is, five moths after that, he asked me out again. C’mon!!!
    Saludos.

  54. Akira / Feb 14 2011 4:44 pm

    My worst date ever was a few months ago at a school dance (hope none of you mind a teen’s story). The guy left me every five minutes to talk to his friends, stepped on my foot multiple times, spilled punched on my dress (which, thankfully, came out). When I finally got fed up and decided to leave, he chased after me. He caught me at the stairs and not only did he bump into me and knock me down, but when he tried to grab me to try to prevent my fall, he ripped my dress! Then, he actually said, “Oh, sorry. Did I rip your dress?” It’s not like it was a small tear! Anybody could clearly see it was ripped! I went to the bathroom and called my parents to pick me up. I didn’t want to talk about it then and thankfully, neither of them asked. They saw my ripped dress and I guess that said all (I did tell them the next day, though).

  55. The Compulsive Writer / Feb 14 2011 5:35 pm

    That is a good one. Hives….gotta love ’em. Your entire body sent him a rejection letter for sure! What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger right?

    • Meg / Feb 15 2011 9:56 pm

      Absolutely!

  56. sophiaharcourt / Feb 14 2011 6:12 pm

    Wow…..that’s about all I have to say. It was a very “Hitch” moment without a happy ending. Murphy’s law was hard at work when you went out with this guy, I like to think to save you:) (you never know). Congratulations on being freshly pressed! It’s kinda fun to see how many people end up seeing what you wrote. I checked out the rest of your site and saw that you speak French. Have you found a good venue in which to practice in your area ( I live in Raleigh off 540 and 70)? I just recently saw a movie titled “L’arnacoeur” which I recommend. I’m sure there are better ones but I don’t know of a good resource for listening to French. I was interested also in the cardio kickboxing classes. Where are those taught? I recently found a Zumba instructor that I love but now her classes are always filled up on the night I can go so I need a new outlet for exercise. Good to “meet” you.
    Thanks,
    Sophia

    • Meg / Feb 15 2011 9:59 pm

      I haven’t found a good venue to practice my French! I’m still reading Le Monde fairly regularly, but my spoken French isn’t as good as it used to be. I’ve never seen that movie but I’ll have to check it out!!! I teach Turbo Kick at Duke University’s gym (I’m a grad student at Duke). But the class is taught at a bunch of gyms across the Raleigh/Durham area. If you are a member at a gym, you should definitely check and see if they offer the class!! Great to “meet” you too! 🙂

  57. dadenalxio / Feb 14 2011 6:42 pm

    ….Totally opened my eyes to great stories I could possibly tell.
    My first date….i was stood up. Ha.
    I’ll write about it tonight on my wordpress.
    Hope to see more out soon!

  58. Črtomir / Feb 14 2011 6:52 pm

    THIS QUOTE REALLY MADE ME LAUGH : ” In honor of Singles Awareness Day (aka Valentine’s Day for those of you in a relationship)” :_) :_) :_)

    And I also liked your story about the not so perfect date, I can understand your problem
    with allergies and “sour” fruit – I have something similar, skin allergie which gets worse
    if I eat “wrong” food ( I quickly see consequences in the form of red spots on my skin )……
    I also need medications, but I can control the condition a bit with “watching” what I eat.

    My wish for you is a perfect date for valentines day, maybe next year – maybe one after
    that – Im sure that it can not always be bad, if we try more often, we succeed once in a while.

    Greetings from Europe

    • Črtomir / Feb 14 2011 6:57 pm

      And I almost forgot ; I dont remember my worst day ever ; Its always nice to hang out with a woman , pleasing her and making her happy is the difficult part – So I guess that some of my dates from the past could write a reply to your post , but im not certain.

  59. suburp / Feb 14 2011 6:56 pm

    haha, fun reading this but wow, that is one severe allergy, if there was so much time (and other food and certainly some lip licking.. ) between the orange juice he had and kissing you. damn. scary.

  60. Teacher Girl / Feb 14 2011 7:08 pm

    This story made me feel so much better. Us single gals gotta laugh about stuff like this!

    • Meg / Feb 15 2011 10:00 pm

      Yes we do!!! 🙂

  61. rubywildflower / Feb 14 2011 8:12 pm

    Oh My God… that is HILARIOUS! Straight out of that movie Hitch!
    I once had a date where the guy BURPED across the table after eating… after rocking up half an hour late and when I offered to go halves in the bill he said “f_ck off with ya money”.

    Sigh. I wish I could say that was the worst of it.

  62. elenamusic / Feb 14 2011 8:31 pm

    That allergic reaction sounds horrifying. I guess now you should always ask during a date if a guy has drank OJ in that day…

  63. halfwayto50 / Feb 14 2011 9:04 pm

    I dated the same guy through high school and college. Then we got married a few years ago! My worst date with him was when I was having stomach issues. I had such bad gas cramps that I was literally doubled over in pain. I couldn’t tell him what my problem was because it was just too embarassing! I had to ditch out early and never mention that little “illness” ever again.

  64. Citizen Mars / Feb 14 2011 9:07 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, I punched my DH on our first date–twice–in the face. Maybe you just need to be the one doing the violence…

  65. thelissuh / Feb 14 2011 9:21 pm

    I’m definitely going to need to share my worst date ever after this!

  66. BDSmiley / Feb 14 2011 9:32 pm

    You are adorable. If we lived in the same city I would date you!

    • Meg / Feb 15 2011 10:02 pm

      If there was a “like” button for comments, I’d definitely like this one! Thank you so much 🙂

  67. lifezest / Feb 14 2011 9:36 pm

    LOL, thats hilarious! I feel your pain though. A reaction like that would be horrible! You are a brave, brave woman for going on date #2!

  68. ashmita / Feb 14 2011 9:45 pm

    i dont know if i shud be saying it… but woww…. i mean allergies can actually ruin a date….

  69. meadehamilton / Feb 14 2011 10:32 pm

    Well I had this one time where a girl tried to kiss me on the first date and I was not expecting it… so nervously I backed up down a set of 5 stairs and broke my arm… Thus is the life of Meade :/

    • Meg / Feb 15 2011 10:03 pm

      Awww! I hope your arm is a-ok now!

  70. msvivienne / Feb 14 2011 10:34 pm

    This is not funny…but it like, so is! And I am so sorry about your shoe!! Great post!

  71. mysoulforsale / Feb 14 2011 10:49 pm

    Cute story. I think we’ve all had embarrassing experiences like this one, although most of us probably haven’t almost died after kissing someone on a first date! (You probably traumatized him!) I don’t know how interested you are in reading about other worst dates, but there’s a hashtag on Twitter today that’s all about that. The hashtag is #worstdates, so if you search for that, you should get some other stories that should make you chuckle.

    Congrats on being freshly pressed!

  72. opheliacomplex / Feb 14 2011 10:53 pm

    My worst date is actually also my best: Towards the end of my first date with my now ex-boyfriend, which had hitherto gone extremely well, we took the train together – I needed to get off three stops before him to go home. A stop before I needed to get off, he decided to kiss me for the first time and it was incredible. I was so into it that I leaned against the train doors and carried on kissing. When the doors then opened I – extremely literally – fell out of the train backwards. He, shocked, could only watch as the doors then closed between us and the train left the station with him inside and me, speechless, on the floor of the platform.

    He said he found my clumsiness endearing when he called me ten minutes later and we were together for four years. 🙂

  73. melissa / Feb 14 2011 11:00 pm

    loved your story! my worst date/evening was a post-divorce blind date on – you guessed it – Valentine’s Day. he sounded great on paper. he talked non-stop about himself, including all of his addictions and other issues (was this in the nature of full disclosure? caveat emptor? or warning warning!?) it was such an awful date that i feigned a headache and was home before midnight. my birthday – and this was my 40th birthday – is feb 15. and at the stroke of midnight, my ex called to say he was getting remarried (can you say “passive aggressive”?), thereby in one fell swoop contaminating both Valentine’s Day (already shot to hell) and my 40th (a glorious milestone in and of itself.) BUT — i didn’t have a rash or swell! glad you returned to normal after your disaster!

  74. cookeezrus / Feb 14 2011 11:06 pm

    I can relate; I’m deathly allergic to mushrooms. Very funny and happy hearts day! 🙂

  75. Bo / Feb 14 2011 11:09 pm

    Holy wow you must be crazy allergic to oranges. That’s insane…awesome story!

  76. Ashley Nicole Summers / Feb 14 2011 11:15 pm

    I’m glad you can laugh now, but in the moment, you probably wanted to retreat into one of your hives. 🙂 And, he definitely should have done the gentlemanly thing and replaced your shoes!

  77. palechickstudios / Feb 14 2011 11:27 pm

    Those Poor shoes!!!

  78. makingup3000 / Feb 14 2011 11:33 pm

    Usually I can top someone’s story especially if it’s embarrassing. But I can’t top that one. Haha….too funny.

  79. thewildhearts / Feb 14 2011 11:34 pm

    Oh, man. That is no bueno. At least it’s good blogging material, though, right? 😛
    My worst date was probably when I went to this party at the apartment of a guy I liked (not the most “date-like,” admittedly, but it counted…in my head, anyway) and got so drunk I blacked out (thanks to the crazy-heavy mix drinks he made me). Worse than that is the girl who had been his “friend with benefits” until a month before that had to drive me home. So awful.
    On the bright side, we did date for a long time after that. But still. Not an auspicious start, haha. (One of the few things I remember about that night was hanging onto his tie and slurring, “You’re so sexy.” A real charmer, I am.)
    Great post! 🙂

  80. harkheindzel / Feb 15 2011 12:26 am

    Wow. Guess the “allergic kiss” should have been a sign. Love the post. Great job

  81. zenmamajo / Feb 15 2011 12:34 am

    i’m a jon a fan – great story – my daughter has a lot of allergies (she’s only 5) and i’m tootally using it to encourage her not to kiss boys! hahahaha

    allergic to oranges – wow – never heard of that! r u allergic to anything else?

  82. Yvonne / Feb 15 2011 12:45 am

    Great story, thanks for sharing! My worst date was not really entertaining, just sad…he said he wanted to have a romantic dinner at his house – Italian food and wine. I got there, and he said he decided to order a pizza instead…on the way to pick it up, he said, “Oh, I forgot my wallet!”, so I paid for dinner….boy, I really needed that wine.We got back to the house, it was BOONES FARM!

  83. Jared / Feb 15 2011 1:27 am

    Great story! Being single isn’t do bad 🙂

  84. Shannon / Feb 15 2011 1:46 am

    Aww, glad you survived! I think my worst date was the one where the guy got arrested. I went into the store to buy chapstick, and when I went into the parking lot, there were police cars on either side of his (really nice, really stolen) car. It was a long walk home.

  85. Elaine / Feb 15 2011 1:52 am

    For your many hours of embarrassment, you lifted a few hearts, got freshly pressed, and brought new people to your blog…Congratulations! I guess this Valentine’s Day wasn’t as bad. 🙂

  86. Sharp / Feb 15 2011 1:54 am

    Oh my god hahaha!

    Looking at it from a distance it’s very funny :’).. I understand however how traumatic it must have been for you at that time.

    I actually also have a similar story, I wrote it some time ago. In case you’d like to read it you can find it here: http://sharpsblogorama.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/my-friend-murphy/

    Keep up the good work!

  87. Bakbakee / Feb 15 2011 2:09 am

    HAHHAHA!
    God, it sounds like its straight from one of those rom-coms. Like someone mentioned “Hitch”
    But its great that you actually find it funny now not traumatic.
    Happy Single Awareness Day!
    Great post!

  88. crackpot :P / Feb 15 2011 2:18 am

    haha awesome! its pretty funny when you think about it now.! 😛 and worst dates give u soo much to laugh after months. that they seem totally worth it. 😛 it was almost like the ‘universe’ telling you hes not the right guy haha! 😀

  89. gracefulease / Feb 15 2011 4:22 am

    Subscibed! Such a much-needed good laugh for the day-after-V-day.

  90. expatriotgames / Feb 15 2011 4:29 am

    Oh my, Meg…sorry dear! I have a friend who is also from the Charlotte area (I lived in Huntersville for 2 years before moving to France), who has told me SO many horror stories of bad dates. Her most recent was when she told a guy that she didn’t feel it would work out, asked her to reinburse him for her part of the meal…I guess to your point, it wasn’t meant to be. So glad you came through it all with flying colors and congrats on being FP’ed!

  91. jolty69 / Feb 15 2011 5:02 am

    this one is really cool… never knew oranges can do stuff other than curing scurvy.. 😉

  92. Admin / Feb 15 2011 6:10 am

    well, in this story, everything seems unpredictable. Nice post 🙂 !!!
    nice to see you 🙂

  93. creativeconfessions / Feb 15 2011 7:25 am

    Haha! Classic comedy of errors. I’d love to tell you about my worst date ever, but it’s not nearly as funny (though it’s still embarrassing) as yours. Maybe next time? 😛
    Cheers!

  94. mindslam / Feb 15 2011 7:46 am

    Those two things didn’t seem that bad at all…he should have given you some more chances! Great post!

  95. leadinglight / Feb 15 2011 8:20 am

    I had a heel breaking incident as a student teacher and I was teaching teenagers! So I understand the catastrophe a broken heel can inflict. Funny story got you FP’ed though 🙂

  96. didiwright / Feb 15 2011 8:56 am

    Very funny now, not very funny then, I’m sure. Good post for Valentine’s Day, though. Although I’m in a loving relationship, I’m not particularly keen on Valentine’s Day so this is the kind of post I like to read on this occassion. I wrote an “anti-VD” post myself yesterday, which I am perfectly entitled to given the fact that it was my birthday 🙂

    Congratulations on being FP!

    Didi

  97. Katie / Feb 15 2011 9:20 am

    That’s a pretty awful date, I must say. But you do us Charlotteans proud by having a good sense of humor about it! Thanks for the giggle!

  98. kristinawebb / Feb 15 2011 9:30 am

    My weirdest date ever happened with a guy I really liked. We went to the beach and sat on a bench where we started making out. It turned really weird when he hopped off the bench, laid down on the floor of the gazebo, and said, “Just lay on top of me. We don’t have to do anything. You just have to lay there.” In my head I imagined laying on top of him talking about the football game from the night before; awkward! I just laughed and told him to take me home.

  99. alexanderkang / Feb 15 2011 9:35 am

    LOL great story! That is a nasty allergy you got there lol I wouldn’t know what to do if I was in that guy’s situation, and breaking the heel thing… I feel like thats one of those things a couple looks back on and cherishes; when they are at that awkward stage and didn’t know whether to laugh or cry in that situation. Either way, the part where he goes back to his ex: Not Cool. Hopefully you had a better date last night for Valentine’s Day 🙂
    Oh, and luckily for me, I haven’t had too many ‘bad’ dates, but this one date I remember; the girl just would not stop talking… even during a movie! So much so that during the movie, I reached into my pocket pressed some keys to make my Blackberry light up so I could pretend I had an urgent call and walked out for like 15 minutes to get a breather lol. After the movie, I decided dinner wasn’t the best idea since my ‘boss’ called and asked me to finish up some work from home that night lol.

  100. tushar07 / Feb 15 2011 9:36 am

    oh poor girl…..lol…..u’ll find a better 1 4 sure….
    🙂

  101. sarahnsh / Feb 15 2011 9:52 am

    Wow, now that was an exciting Valentine’s Day! I thought the allergic reaction was because of peanuts, but I didn’t even think about orange juice. I bet that couple gave you an evil eye too for falling down, which you would think they would ask if you were okay. I totally avoid my heel breaking scenario, because I never wear heels and always wear gym shoes. 😉

  102. hunter71 / Feb 15 2011 9:53 am

    LOL. I have two older sisters and you totally sound like them. 🙂 Hunter71

  103. hlbb / Feb 15 2011 10:09 am

    I had a disappointing breakup with a guy so a friend of mine decided to set me up on a blind date. To take the pressure off both parties, a group of us went to see a movie. I ended up having the “closure” conversation with the guy that same day, so my ego was already battered.

    My date was cute, quiet and halfway through the movie…

    He. Fell. Asleep.
    (snored so loudly people in the other aisle were giving dirty looks)

    Woke him up. He apologized.

    Then fell back asleep.
    (still snoring)

    Yeah. I haven’t been on a blind date since.

  104. Debbi Robertson is 24atHeart / Feb 15 2011 11:00 am

    This is absolutely hilarious and sad all at the same time! Thanks for the laugh and I’m sure we all can sympathize in some way or another!

  105. kaudresi / Feb 15 2011 11:10 am

    I loved reading the story though it was a sad. i will be back to read more of ur other blogs.

  106. Liz / Feb 15 2011 11:13 am

    At least you can look back on it all and laugh. Great post!
    I have to say…My daughter has a severe allergy, and your post kind of freaked me out. She’s young so I haven’t thought about her dating, but YIKES–this post made me think about that!

    Congrats for being featured on Freshly Pressed!

  107. ryekatcher / Feb 15 2011 12:28 pm

    Congrats on getting freshly pressed! I want to say awesome date story, although it feels harsh. Was quite humorous as long as I can safely say it was not me. I hope your stories get better- cept with the humor. The humor was great- and its the first time I heard about being allergic to oranges.

    Can’t wait to hear more date stories!!!

  108. TMarie / Feb 15 2011 1:26 pm

    Meg, I sincerely hope ALL of you’re dates aren’t quite so…unfunny, and I enjoyed the awkwardness of the whole thing! – TMarie

  109. datingingradschool / Feb 15 2011 11:26 pm

    That is pretty awesome. As many say, vivid experiences make great stories. 🙂 I actually think that having something embarrassing or crazy or horrible happen on a first date can be cool because it drags both parties from “their best behavior” and reveals what they are like when things don’t go according to plan, usually what you might not discover well into a relationship.

  110. lostbutf0und / Feb 16 2011 9:35 am

    Funny.

    My worst date was with this cute Latino ex-pat . We had a great evening until I told him that I had two kids.
    Ten minutes later he went to the gents room and I never saw him again.
    Charming.

  111. Jaymie / Feb 16 2011 4:50 pm

    That was fantastic to read. And I love Jon’s blog too – it’s my favorite haha.
    I am sorry that you had such an awful experience xD.

  112. selkirk / Feb 16 2011 4:51 pm

    If you’re that allergic, you really need an Epi-pen – severe annoying allergies can become severe life-threatening allergies without warning. Sorry to be such a downer, but I’ve been to the ER before when I didn’t realize there were nuts in the chocolate…

    My favorite so-bad-it’s-funny date happened when I was a freshman in college, and my date had to help me PUSH my car off the road – I don’t think I have ever been so embarrassed in my life!

    • Meg / Feb 16 2011 5:00 pm

      I actually have multiple Epi Pens. I keep one in my purse and one in my apartment. With allergies as severe as mine, it’s too risky not to have one!!!

  113. chicaextrana / Feb 16 2011 6:42 pm

    Wow, that’s… don’t know what to say. At least you’re laughing about it now 🙂 t’is all that matters, my mind would never let me live it down. I’m kind of scared of future dates now… :/

  114. rising writer / Feb 16 2011 8:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing this, I thought that my date (4yrs ago) showing up with plastic flowers in a grocery bag, trying to pick food out of my plate at lunch was bad. Thanks for the laugh and better luck in future dates!

  115. Mrs.Idiot / Feb 16 2011 10:05 pm

    When things go that bad you either laugh or cry…glad you’re laughing about it! Scary about the orange allergy, you just might have to come with a warning label for future dates! No bad date stories yet…getting divorced and haven’t dated so far but I’m sure being over forty I’ll have a few good stories soon, lol!

  116. bootytoberlin / Feb 17 2011 12:30 am

    Whooooooooops! 🙂

  117. B. / Feb 17 2011 10:06 am

    Aww! What a story. Can you imagine if you’d gone out on a third date with the guy? This is the stuff movies are made from!

  118. obinnasucks / Feb 17 2011 6:02 pm

    Ha, awesome, I thought I was the only one with a sucky valentines day meg but u beat me to it, I wrote on this day but mine was a bit different.

  119. frozenchallah / Feb 18 2011 1:20 am

    You inspired me to post my most embarrassing date ever. I feel horrible for what happened to you but I really don’t think you should be embarrassed about, you can’t help your allergies. I hope he was a gentleman about it. I think if you read my post you may feel a little less embarrassed.

  120. notacrazycatlady / Feb 19 2011 7:51 am

    Hahhaha, that’s particularly awful yet hilarious at the same time!

  121. teacher8690 / Feb 20 2011 10:41 am

    Worst date ever? That’s easy. I was in high school, and I should mention that as a young adult, my current boyfriend and I have been together on and off since middle school (on again since mid HS). Well, the entire time we were together, a friend of mine tried to convince me that he was much better suited for me. He was relentless. He was also the bad boy type into a lot of things I had no taste for.
    Eventually, when I was ‘off again’, I decided to give him a chance. Our date? He first tried to get me to watch a movie about a real-life cannibal at his house that smelled of wet dog. When I rejected that idea, he took me to see Freddy Vs. Jason! Nothing terribly embarrassing or disgusting happened, but that was the end of his pushing and my mild curiosity. I have no idea what he’s up to today, but I’m really not curious about him. I have the one I want.

    It’s always good to explore in school and get your questions about others answered. Thank God I’m no longer curious about a guy who CLEARLY has nothing in common with me.

  122. Kaye / Feb 20 2011 8:17 pm

    Love that you’re so young and pretty yet you understand the importance of God and faith as shown in your profile….I don’t really have a worst date story to share – you set the bar pretty high with yours, though, lol…enjoyed reading it!

  123. frayedges / Feb 21 2011 2:53 pm

    Great story Meg! I just started a new blog about dating fiascos. May I link this post to it? I think it fits well under the most embarrassing dates categories. 🙂

    • Meg / Feb 21 2011 2:57 pm

      Sure! Feel free to link back to here. Thanks!!! 🙂

  124. graciiie94 / Feb 22 2011 8:11 pm

    Oh. My. Days.
    I Can imagine that would have been pretty awkward. my worst date was my first… he took me to the cinema and kept trying to kiss me — i wanted to watch the film ¬¬

  125. suzannebrandsen / Feb 23 2011 9:53 am

    Wow, I thought heels only break in movies! I like your writing style, & enjoyed this post. 🙂

    I’m still trying to find my “voice” on my blog & always appreciate it when I see someone else with a tone that works so well, so thanks for the inspiration!

    • Meg / Feb 23 2011 11:12 am

      Thank you!!! I still feel like I’m trying to find my blog voice, but this post definitely helped point me in the right direction.

  126. Timmer / Feb 23 2011 1:17 pm

    My worst date, (although we ended up dating for a while) was with a girl called Sharon, I spilt soup all down my shirt, the second time I saw her I lent against a wall that had just been painted & the 3rd time we went out I knocked her rather expensive sunglasses into a moat.

  127. The Single Girl / Mar 18 2011 10:14 am

    Haha, gotta love an untimely allergic reaction! Great post 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Valentines Day – share the love! « Make It Simple Sister
  2. Worst. Date. Ever. (via life in bloom) | Boner in the Back
  3. My Blog
  4. La peor cita de mi vida « Blog de opiniones
  5. Top Posts — WordPress.com
  6. Time Warp Post « Abookend's Blog
  7. Worst Date Ever « thelissuh
  8. Animal mating rituals are SO not sexy « Journalist on the run
  9. So. « life in bloom

Leave a Reply

